Data center campus · Brown University, Providence; facilities in buildings at 115 Waterman St, 180 George St, 121 South Main St and Friedman Hall, Providence County, Rhode Island

Brown University OIT Data Centers (Providence campus)

Operating as of Dec. 17, 2025

Brown's Office of Information Technology runs data center rooms in several campus buildings in Providence, including 180 George Street, which also houses the university's research computing center. Also known as: Brown OIT Data Center Facilities, Center for Computation and Visualization.

Cite← Rhode Island data centers
Bristol CountyKent CountyNewport CountyProvidence CountyWashington CountyBrown University OIT Data Centers (Providence campus) · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found

Who is behind it

ProjectBrown University OIT Data Centers (Providence campus)Also: Brown OIT Data Center Facilities, Center for Computation and Visualization
Developer and teamBrown University
End userBrown University

The record, newest first

  1. A Brown job posting listed 115 Waterman St, 180 George St, 121 South Main St and Friedman Hall as OIT data center facilities. (Brown University (job posting republished on AnitaB.org jobs board), Dec. 17, 2025)

  2. The Brown Daily Herald reported a new research cluster that took up a whole room at the computing center at 180 George St. (The Brown Daily Herald, Nov. 2009)

Conflicts and open questions

  • The buildings are grouped into one entry for the university's Providence campus.
  • The job posting text was read on a third-party job board (AnitaB.org) that republishes Brown's listing, not on Brown's own careers site.

The full record

Status note
Brown's job posting for a data center facilities manager (recruiting start 2025-12-17) lists these buildings as OIT data center facilities. Coordinates are approximate, at the College Hill campus. The posting also names an OSHEAN data center in Springfield, Mass., which is outside Rhode Island and is not part of this entry.
Power note
Power capacity not reported.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.