Data center campus · Smithfield, Providence County, Rhode Island

Smithfield Corporate Complex (Hanton City site)

Proposed as of Oct. 1, 2026

A business park proposed along the Route 7 and Route 116 corridor, behind the Fidelity office park and across from Bryant University, with a data center planned as its anchor tenant. The application was filed the day before the Town Council adopted its data center ban and is now the subject of a zoning appeal and a Superior Court case. Also known as: Hanton City business park, Hanton City industrial park.

Cite← Rhode Island data centers
Bristol CountyKent CountyNewport CountyProvidence CountyWashington CountySmithfield Corporate Complex (Hanton City site) · Proposed
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found

Who is behind it

ProjectSmithfield Corporate Complex (Hanton City site)Also: Hanton City business park, Hanton City industrial park
Developer and teamHanton City Investments LLC
ROK LLC
Revity Energy
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. The Zoning Board hearing on the appeal was pushed back to January. (Valley Breeze, Oct. 1, 2026)

  2. Hanton City Investments and ROK LLC sued the town in Superior Court, asking the court to reverse the incompleteness certificate. (Valley Breeze, Oct. 1, 2026)

  3. The Zoning Board's September 2 meeting was postponed, moving the hearing on the developers' appeal of the incompleteness finding to October 7. (Valley Breeze, Sept. 3, 2026)

  4. The town issued a second certificate of incompleteness, saying the application lacked a use variance for the data center. The first certificate came May 29. (Valley Breeze, Oct. 1, 2026)

  5. The Town Council adopted the data center ban, 4-1. (WPRI 12, May 6, 2026; Ocean State Media, May 13, 2026)

  6. Hanton City Investments filed a major land-development application for the complex. (Ocean State Media, May 13, 2026; Valley Breeze, Oct. 1, 2026)

  7. The Planning Board took up a zoning amendment that would define data centers and list them as not permitted in every district, and sent the council a positive recommendation. (Town of Smithfield Planning Board, March 19, 2026; Valley Breeze, Oct. 1, 2026)

  8. A Revity Energy executive presented the business-park concept, with a data center as anchor tenant, to the Smithfield Town Council. (ecoRI News, April 9, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • The Valley Breeze gives the address as 364 George Washington Highway. ecoRI's opinion column places the woodland off Douglas Pike, behind the Fidelity office park. Coordinates are approximate, near the Route 7/116 area by Bryant University.
  • ecoRI's opinion column describes the site as several hundred acres of woods. No acreage appears in any record, so acres is left null.
  • Ocean State Media reported that the application projects about $59 million for the town over 30 years, a net gain of nearly $42 million.
  • Rhode Island Current reported that a December 2025 mortgage filing pledged six Hanton City Investments parcels as collateral.
  • Rhode Island Current reported on April 13 that no formal proposal had been filed yet. The May 4 application was the first filing.
  • Size is unknown, so this project may fall below the 50 MW / 100-acre threshold. It is kept because it is the only active data center proposal found in the state.
  • Revity Energy supported S 2346 and S 2776 in March 10, 2026 Senate Commerce testimony, and Rhode Island Current also reported its support for the tax exemption.

The full record

Status note
The town has twice certified the land-development application as incomplete and says the project would need a use variance. The developers are contesting that finding before the Zoning Board (hearing pushed to January 2027) and in Superior Court. A townwide data center ban took effect June 4, 2026, and the developers argue their May 4 filing came before it.
Power note
No power figure has been made public.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.