Data center campus · Ford Road, Gaffney, Cherokee County, South Carolina

Cielo Digital Infrastructure Gaffney campus

Approved as of June 25, 2025

Texas-based Cielo Digital Infrastructure plans a $2.1 billion, four-building data center campus with its own substation on Ford Road in Gaffney, targeting first operations by the end of 2028.

Cite← South Carolina data centers
Abbeville CountyAiken CountyAllendale CountyAnderson CountyBamberg CountyBarnwell CountyBeaufort CountyBerkeley CountyCalhoun CountyCharleston CountyCherokee CountyChester CountyChesterfield CountyClarendon CountyColleton CountyDarlington CountyDillon CountyDorchester CountyEdgefield CountyFairfield CountyFlorence CountyGeorgetown CountyGreenville CountyGreenwood CountyHampton CountyHorry CountyJasper CountyKershaw CountyLancaster CountyLaurens CountyLee CountyLexington CountyMarion CountyMarlboro CountyMcCormick CountyNewberry CountyOconee CountyOrangeburg CountyPickens CountyRichland CountySaluda CountySpartanburg CountySumter CountyUnion CountyWilliamsburg CountyYork CountyCielo Digital Infrastructure Gaffney campus · Approved · 300 MW
Power300MW reported · stated
Floor area1.6e+06sq ft

Who is behind it

ProjectCielo Digital Infrastructure Gaffney campus
Developer and teamCielo Digital Infrastructure (through Cielo Digital Infrastructure, LLC)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. A resident asked county council for clearer communication about the project; the county development board director said the site would be a data storage facility, not an AI center. (WSPA 7NEWS, Feb. 5, 2026)

  2. Cherokee County Council finalized the incentive deal; the development board said terms would be public once paperwork was done. (SC Daily Gazette, June 25, 2025)

  3. The governor's office announced Cielo's first South Carolina project: four buildings of about 400,000 sq ft each plus a substation, about $2.1 billion and 30 jobs. (Office of the Governor of South Carolina, June 24, 2025; WIS News 10, June 24, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Square footage: four buildings of about 400,000 sq ft each per the state announcement (about 1.6 million sq ft total); one TV report described a 400,000 sq ft campus.
  • The exact date of the council's final vote was not reported; reporting on June 25, 2025 said it came that week.
  • Incentive amounts and term not found.
  • Coordinates approximate, Ford Road area of Gaffney.

The full record

Status note
Cherokee County Council finalized an incentive agreement in June 2025; initial operations targeted for the end of 2028. No construction record found.
Power note
Up to 300 MW at full build-out, per the developer's website as reported; not stated in the state announcement.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.