Data center campus · Between Whitetown Road and Main Street, about two miles from downtown McCormick, McCormick County, South Carolina

Pollard data center site (McCormick)

Approved as of Sept. 10, 2026

McCormick County Council voted 3-2 to rezone about 1,000 acres of Pollard-owned forest near downtown McCormick for a natural gas-powered data center, after the planning commission had recommended denial, and voted down a proposed nine-month pause.

Cite← South Carolina data centers
Abbeville CountyAiken CountyAllendale CountyAnderson CountyBamberg CountyBarnwell CountyBeaufort CountyBerkeley CountyCalhoun CountyCharleston CountyCherokee CountyChester CountyChesterfield CountyClarendon CountyColleton CountyDarlington CountyDillon CountyDorchester CountyEdgefield CountyFairfield CountyFlorence CountyGeorgetown CountyGreenville CountyGreenwood CountyHampton CountyHorry CountyJasper CountyKershaw CountyLancaster CountyLaurens CountyLee CountyLexington CountyMarion CountyMarlboro CountyMcCormick CountyNewberry CountyOconee CountyOrangeburg CountyPickens CountyRichland CountySaluda CountySpartanburg CountySumter CountyUnion CountyWilliamsburg CountyYork CountyPollard data center site (McCormick) · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site1,000acres

Who is behind it

ProjectPollard data center site (McCormick)
Developer and teamPollard Lumber Company (facilitated the deal; developer and end user not named) (through Pollard Land Company (rezoning applicant, per reporting))
End userUnnamed

The record, newest first

  1. Council Chairman Bernie Hamby said he voted against the moratorium because Pollard Lumber Company said the matter had to be settled by September; the developer and end user were not named. (WRDW/WAGT News 12, Sept. 15, 2026)

  2. County council approved the rezoning 3-2, rejected the proposed nine-month moratorium 3-2 on first reading and gave unanimous (5-0) first reading to a data center regulation ordinance. (WRDW/WAGT News 12, Sept. 10, 2026)

  3. The planning commission recommended that council deny the rezoning, adopt a nine-month pause on data centers and write a data center ordinance; vote counts were not reported. (WRDW/WAGT News 12, July 30, 2026)

  4. Pollard Lumber Company held an information session attended by nearly 400 people on the roughly 1,000-acre site; the company said a Kinder Morgan gas pipeline costing about $200 million to $280 million would be paid for entirely by the data center user. (WRDW/WAGT News 12, July 28, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Pipeline cost reported as $200 million, as $200 million to $280 million and, in one article, as a $1.5 billion pipeline.
  • The planning commission chair said the data center may not use all 1,000 acres.
  • Reporting names Pollard Lumber Company as host of the information session and Pollard Land Company as the rezoning applicant.
  • Coordinates approximate, Whitetown Road area of McCormick.

The full record

Status note
County council approved the rezoning 3-2 and rejected a proposed nine-month pause on data centers.
Power note
Not reported.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.