Data center campus · Northwest Sioux Falls, near I-29 and I-90, Minnehaha County, South Dakota

SDN Communications Data Center

Operating as of March 2022

SDN Communications, owned by 17 independent South Dakota telecommunications companies, runs a hardened colocation and network data center on a 66-acre site in northwest Sioux Falls that opened in 2012. Also known as: SDN LaMesa Data Center.

Cite← South Dakota data centers
Aurora CountyBeadle CountyBennett CountyBon Homme CountyBrookings CountyBrown CountyBrule CountyBuffalo CountyButte CountyCampbell CountyCharles Mix CountyClark CountyClay CountyCodington CountyCorson CountyCuster CountyDavison CountyDay CountyDeuel CountyDewey CountyDouglas CountyEdmunds CountyFall River CountyFaulk CountyGrant CountyGregory CountyHaakon CountyHamlin CountyHand CountyHanson CountyHarding CountyHughes CountyHutchinson CountyHyde CountyJackson CountyJerauld CountyJones CountyKingsbury CountyLake CountyLawrence CountyLincoln CountyLyman CountyMarshall CountyMcCook CountyMcPherson CountyMeade CountyMellette CountyMiner CountyMinnehaha CountyMoody CountyOglala Lakota CountyPennington CountyPerkins CountyPotter CountyRoberts CountySanborn CountySpink CountyStanley CountySully CountyTodd CountyTripp CountyTurner CountyUnion CountyWalworth CountyYankton CountyZiebach CountySDN Communications Data Center · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site66acres

Who is behind it

ProjectSDN Communications Data CenterAlso: SDN LaMesa Data Center
Developer and teamSDN Communications
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. Designer TSP describes a windowless, 12-inch concrete building serving as SDN's colocation hub and recovery site, fed by two substations. (TSP, Oct. 27, 2026)

  2. SDN said all suites were leased and began adding a 25,000 sq ft pod, with room for more pods later. (SiouxFalls.Business, March 21, 2022; Dakota News Now, March 22, 2022; SDN Communications, Oct. 27, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Coordinates approximate; no street address published.
  • Architect TSP describes the original building as 25,000 sq ft with a 10,000 sq ft raised-floor pod.
  • Reports differ on whether future pods total 50,000 sq ft or are 50,000 sq ft each.

The full record

Status note
Operating since 2012 per the operator; a second pod was announced in 2022, completion not reported.
Power note
No facility load published; SDN cites a 2 MW generator and its architect cites two utility substations.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.