Data center campus · St. Albans Town, Franklin County, Vermont

St. Albans data center proposal

Withdrawn as of Feb. 24, 2026

In 2025 St. Albans Town worked with an unnamed developer on a data center in one of two sizes, 8-12 MW or 50 MW. VTDigger described it as the earliest known effort to site a large-scale data center in Vermont. It stalled when the substation it needed was estimated at about $30 million. Vermont Public and Seven Days later reported that the developer withdrew or lost interest.

Cite← Vermont data centers
Addison CountyBennington CountyCaledonia CountyChittenden CountyEssex CountyFranklin CountyGrand Isle CountyLamoille CountyOrange CountyOrleans CountyRutland CountyWashington CountyWindham CountyWindsor CountySt. Albans data center proposal · Withdrawn
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found

Who is behind it

ProjectSt. Albans data center proposal
Developer and teamUnnamed developer
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. Seven Days reports that the commissioner of the Department of Public Service knew of one developer that asked about a St. Albans parcel and then lost interest. (Seven Days, Sept. 9, 2026)

  2. Vermont Public reports that the developers pulled out after concluding the project would need expensive transmission upgrades. (Vermont Public, Feb. 26, 2026)

  3. VTDigger reports the project fell through over an estimated $30 million substation cost. (VTDigger, Feb. 24, 2026)

  4. The town works with a developer on a data center proposal sized at 8-12 MW or 50 MW, according to later reporting. (VTDigger, Feb. 24, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Town or City of St. Albans: VTDigger refers to the then-town manager, so the record is placed in St. Albans Town. No primary record (selectboard minutes, permit) was found. Coordinates are a general point in St. Albans Town (Census county subdivision), not a parcel.

The full record

Status note
February 2026 reporting said a 2025 effort with an unnamed developer ended after grid connection was found to require a substation costing about $30 million, and the developer withdrew. No town or state filing was found.
Power note
Reporting describes two options discussed, 8-12 MW or 50 MW; no filing states a size.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.