Shelton Police Department
- Status
- Using license-plate readers
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- 12
12 cameras at city entrances, per the Shelton-Mason County Journal and the Flock transparency portal (updated Sept. 1, 2025). - Contract
- Flock Safety: $40,800 (year 1, incl. startup); $36,000 (year 2) year · from 2024 · approved by Shelton City Council · Two-year subscription; after startup, $3,000 per camera per year. City received a $20,400 grant toward the cost, and Our Community Credit Union later donated $21,300 for the cameras. (Shelton-Mason County Journal, Aug. 8, 2024; Shelton-Mason County Journal, Aug. 22, 2024; Shelton-Mason County Journal, Oct. 17, 2024)
- June 25, 2024 City Council heard a presentation on 12 Flock license plate cameras at a study session. (Shelton-Mason County Journal, July 4, 2024)
- Aug. 6, 2024 City Council gave preliminary approval to the Flock cameras and to asking Mason PUD 3 to allow mounting on existing power poles. (Shelton-Mason County Journal, Aug. 8, 2024; Shelton-Mason County Journal, Aug. 22, 2024)
- Aug. 20, 2024 City Council gave final approval to the 12-camera Flock subscription. (Shelton-Mason County Journal, Aug. 22, 2024; Shelton-Mason County Journal, Aug. 8, 2024)
- Oct. 2024 Our Community Credit Union donated $21,300 to the police department for Flock cameras. (Shelton-Mason County Journal, Oct. 17, 2024)
- Sept. 1, 2025 Transparency portal listed 12 cameras, 30-day retention and 71 sharing organizations, all labeled Washington; listed prohibited uses include immigration enforcement. (Flock Safety, Sept. 1, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
- The Journal reported final approval on 'Tuesday evening' (Aug. 22, 2024 brief); its Aug. 8 story said the final vote was scheduled for Aug. 20. Vote tallies not reported. Donation date not stated (story published Oct. 17, 2024).
From agency records.