Data center campus · CJIS campus, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, Clarksburg, Harrison County, West Virginia

FBI CJIS Division data center

Operating as of June 9, 2021

The FBI's 986-acre CJIS campus near Clarksburg was reported to host a roughly 100,000-square-foot data center serving national criminal justice systems.

Cite← West Virginia data centers
Barbour CountyBerkeley CountyBoone CountyBraxton CountyBrooke CountyCabell CountyCalhoun CountyClay CountyDoddridge CountyFayette CountyGilmer CountyGrant CountyGreenbrier CountyHampshire CountyHancock CountyHardy CountyHarrison CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyKanawha CountyLewis CountyLincoln CountyLogan CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMason CountyMcDowell CountyMercer CountyMineral CountyMingo CountyMonongalia CountyMonroe CountyMorgan CountyNicholas CountyOhio CountyPendleton CountyPleasants CountyPocahontas CountyPreston CountyPutnam CountyRaleigh CountyRandolph CountyRitchie CountyRoane CountySummers CountyTaylor CountyTucker CountyTyler CountyUpshur CountyWayne CountyWebster CountyWetzel CountyWirt CountyWood CountyWyoming CountyFBI CJIS Division data center · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area100,000sq ft
Site986acres

Who is behind it

ProjectFBI CJIS Division data center
Developer and teamFederal Bureau of Investigation
End userFBI Criminal Justice Information Services Division

The record, newest first

  1. The FBI's CJIS page describes the Clarksburg campus as 986 secure acres with 22 structures and about 3,500 staff. (Federal Bureau of Investigation, undated)

  2. MeriTalk reported that an FBI data center support solicitation named Clarksburg as one of five sites needing on-site contractor staff. (MeriTalk, June 9, 2021)

  3. Nextgov reported that the FBI sought a contractor to improve energy efficiency at its CJIS data center in Clarksburg. (Nextgov, July 24, 2013)

  4. GCN described a 100,000-square-foot CJIS data center on a campus of nearly 1,000 acres, with diesel generators in an adjacent power plant as backup. (GCN (via Route Fifty), July 2, 2008)

Conflicts and open questions

  • FBI's CJIS page (undated; viewed 2026-10-26) confirms the 986-acre campus but does not mention the data center; capacity not public. Operating status rests on reporting through 2021.
  • A separate former FBI-leased building at 347 W. Main St., Clarksburg, was listed for sale in 2021; it is not the CJIS campus.

The full record

Status note
The latest public record of data center operations found is a 2021 FBI support solicitation naming Clarksburg; the FBI's current CJIS page confirms the campus but not the data center.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.