Data center campus · Kearneysville, Jefferson County, West Virginia

IRS Enterprise Computing Center - Martinsburg

Operating as of March 6, 2025

The IRS's Martinsburg Enterprise Computing Center, which holds the agency's Master File of tax records, sits in Kearneysville. Also known as: ECC-MTB.

Cite← West Virginia data centers
Barbour CountyBerkeley CountyBoone CountyBraxton CountyBrooke CountyCabell CountyCalhoun CountyClay CountyDoddridge CountyFayette CountyGilmer CountyGrant CountyGreenbrier CountyHampshire CountyHancock CountyHardy CountyHarrison CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyKanawha CountyLewis CountyLincoln CountyLogan CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMason CountyMcDowell CountyMercer CountyMineral CountyMingo CountyMonongalia CountyMonroe CountyMorgan CountyNicholas CountyOhio CountyPendleton CountyPleasants CountyPocahontas CountyPreston CountyPutnam CountyRaleigh CountyRandolph CountyRitchie CountyRoane CountySummers CountyTaylor CountyTucker CountyTyler CountyUpshur CountyWayne CountyWebster CountyWetzel CountyWirt CountyWood CountyWyoming CountyIRS Enterprise Computing Center - Martinsburg · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found

Who is behind it

ProjectIRS Enterprise Computing Center - MartinsburgAlso: ECC-MTB
Developer and teamInternal Revenue Service
End userIRS

The record, newest first

  1. The Intercept reported that the center was on a GSA list of properties for sale, and cited reporting that the sale process was paused. (The Intercept, March 6, 2025)

  2. DOE approved a categorical exclusion for AFFECT grant funding of energy conservation work at the IRS Martinsburg facility in Kearneysville. (U.S. Department of Energy, Sept. 24, 2024)

  3. Treasury's inspector general recommended that the IRS move its Detroit computing center's work into the Martinsburg and Memphis computing centers. (Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration, July 10, 2013)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Disposal-list story includes political criticism of the administration; report only the listing and pause, no imputation.

The full record

Status note
Reported as one of two IRS data facilities for tax collection and home of the Master File; it appeared on a 2025 GSA disposal list whose sale process was reported paused.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.