Data center campus · North Range Business Park, west Cheyenne, near the I-80/I-25 interchange, Laramie County, Wyoming

Microsoft Cheyenne North Range Business Park campus

Operating as of Aug. 4, 2026

Microsoft's original Cheyenne data center campus in the LEADS-managed North Range Business Park west of town, plus an adjacent parcel to the south (Project Equality) zoned light industrial for the park in 2024. Also known as: Project Equality (adjacent parcel south of the park).

Cite← Wyoming data centers
Albany CountyBig Horn CountyCampbell CountyCarbon CountyConverse CountyCrook CountyFremont CountyGoshen CountyHot Springs CountyJohnson CountyLaramie CountyLincoln CountyNatrona CountyNiobrara CountyPark CountyPlatte CountySheridan CountySublette CountySweetwater CountyTeton CountyUinta CountyWashakie CountyWeston CountyMicrosoft Cheyenne North Range Business Park campus · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found

Who is behind it

ProjectMicrosoft Cheyenne North Range Business Park campusAlso: Project Equality (adjacent parcel south of the park)
Developer and teamMicrosoft
End userMicrosoft (Azure West Central US region)

The record, newest first

  1. Cheyenne LEADS listed 'Microsoft - NRBP' among current data centers and a second 'Microsoft - NRBP' site among planned ones. (Cheyenne LEADS, Aug. 4, 2026)

  2. Microsoft said it had applied to the city for a roughly 35-acre site south of Happy Jack Road near North Range Business Park, where LEADS said Microsoft already operates data centers and a major substation is in place. (Wyoming Tribune Eagle, May 29, 2026; Cowboy State Daily, May 28, 2026)

  3. The Tribune Eagle reported Microsoft owned the roughly 418-acre Project Equality tract south of North Range, expected to become part of the park after annexation. (Wyoming Tribune Eagle, April 3, 2024)

  4. The Cheyenne Planning Commission voted 5-0 twice, to assign city zoning to the 923.93-acre North Range Business Park 14th Filing southwest of the I-80/I-25 interchange and to rezone it to agricultural and light industrial; only the Project Equality site was to be light industrial, and a commissioner referred to it as a Microsoft parcel being added to the LEADS-run park. (City of Cheyenne Planning Commission, March 4, 2024)

  5. LEADS said Microsoft had resumed a North Range expansion first announced in 2015 after an 18-month delay, with preparatory and foundation work begun the previous fall and the project well under construction. (Cheyenne LEADS (reprint of Wyoming Tribune Eagle), March 5, 2018)

  6. Microsoft said it would add a $274 million expansion to the Cheyenne data center it had opened outside town the year before, bringing its local investment to nearly $500 million. (Wyoming Public Media, April 25, 2014)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Coordinates approximate, placed at the reported location of North Range Business Park southwest of the I-80/I-25 interchange; not a building address.
  • Project Equality (about 418 acres, south of the park) is treated as part of this campus because it is contiguous and was zoned into the park's filing. The Tribune Eagle (April 2024) said the land was owned by Microsoft and likely to host a new Microsoft campus; whether buildings there are operating or under construction was not confirmed in an opened source. The same article said another part of Project Equality, across I-80 from Cheyenne Business Parkway, would hold four data centers; that part is not placed here.
  • No MW, building count or square footage for this campus appears in the sources opened. Cowboy State Daily (April 2026) reported 11 operating Microsoft data centers and three under construction across four Cheyenne campuses without naming them.
  • Utility arrangement (Large Power Contract Service tariff) is from Microsoft's April 14, 2026 release (wy-msft-source-20260414).

The full record

Status note
Microsoft's original Cheyenne campus, opened in 2013 and expanded since; Cheyenne LEADS listed a Microsoft North Range site as a current data center and another North Range Microsoft site as planned in August 2026.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.