Data center campus · Goshen Hole, northeast of Wheatland near the Platte-Goshen county line, Platte County, Wyoming
Site Layer 4 data center and energy campus (Goshen Hole)
Site zoned or marketed
as of Sept. 2, 2026
About 5,344 acres of private ranchland in Goshen Hole that Platte County rezoned to industrial in 2026 for a proposed self-powered data center and energy campus. Also known as: Site Layer 4.
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site5,344acres
Who is behind it
ProjectSite Layer 4 data center and energy campus (Goshen Hole)Also: Site Layer 4
Developer and teamSite Layer 4 (through Site Layer 4, LLC)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.
The record, newest first
After nearly four hours of discussion, county commissioners unanimously approved the rezone with four conditions: five-year reversion, commission review of any industrial park subdivision, a special-use permit for any use, and the owner's written acceptance. (Cowboy State Daily, Sept. 2, 2026)
The Platte County Planning and Zoning Commission unanimously recommended rezoning the land to industrial with three conditions, including reversion if construction does not start within five years. (Cowboy State Daily, Aug. 27, 2026; Platte County, Aug. 11, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
- Coordinates are approximate, from 'northeast of Wheatland near the Platte-Goshen county line'; the parcels were not mapped.
- A speaker at the Sept. 2 meeting called it a $26 billion project, and Cowboy State Daily repeated that estimate in October; unverified and not used.
- Cowboy State Daily gave the developer representative's first name two ways in August; the Sept. 2 story names the company Site Layer 4, LLC.
- The rezone was confirmed only through reporting; county minutes were not found. The Aug. 11 county agenda lists the Aug. 26 special meeting on the rezone.
The full record
- Status note
- About 5,344 acres rezoned from Ranch, Agricultural and Mining to industrial with four conditions; any data center use still needs a county special-use permit, and the developer says it is in site evaluation.
- Power note
- No capacity stated; the developer said size depends on how much generation can be built on site.
- Evidence
- News reports; primary records not yet obtained
- Size class
- 50 MW or more (tracker scope)