Data center campus · South of the I-20 Liberty Road exit near Villa Rica, bounded by Liberty Road, Suddeth Road and I-20 (about 35 acres inside Villa Rica city limits), Douglas County, Georgia

Hickman Property data center campus

Denied as of July 7, 2026

An 11-building, 6.2 million sq ft data center campus on about 736 acres off I-20 near Villa Rica, later cut to six buildings, that Douglas County commissioners denied in July 2026 after staff and the planning commission recommended denial. Also known as: Liberty Road data center, East Dothan Village (applicant).

Cite← Georgia data centers
Appling CountyAtkinson CountyBacon CountyBaker CountyBaldwin CountyBanks CountyBarrow CountyBartow CountyBen Hill CountyBerrien CountyBibb CountyBleckley CountyBrantley CountyBrooks CountyBryan CountyBulloch CountyBurke CountyButts CountyCalhoun CountyCamden CountyCandler CountyCarroll CountyCatoosa CountyCharlton CountyChatham CountyChattahoochee CountyChattooga CountyCherokee CountyClarke CountyClay CountyClayton CountyClinch CountyCobb CountyCoffee CountyColquitt CountyColumbia CountyCook CountyCoweta CountyCrawford CountyCrisp CountyDade CountyDawson CountyDecatur CountyDeKalb CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyDougherty CountyDouglas CountyEarly CountyEchols CountyEffingham CountyElbert CountyEmanuel CountyEvans CountyFannin CountyFayette CountyFloyd CountyForsyth CountyFranklin CountyFulton CountyGilmer CountyGlascock CountyGlynn CountyGordon CountyGrady CountyGreene CountyGwinnett CountyHabersham CountyHall CountyHancock CountyHaralson CountyHarris CountyHart CountyHeard CountyHenry CountyHouston CountyIrwin CountyJackson CountyJasper CountyJeff Davis CountyJefferson CountyJenkins CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLamar CountyLanier CountyLaurens CountyLee CountyLiberty CountyLincoln CountyLong CountyLowndes CountyLumpkin CountyMacon CountyMadison CountyMarion CountyMcDuffie CountyMcIntosh CountyMeriwether CountyMiller CountyMitchell CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyMurray CountyMuscogee CountyNewton CountyOconee CountyOglethorpe CountyPaulding CountyPeach CountyPickens CountyPierce CountyPike CountyPolk CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyQuitman CountyRabun CountyRandolph CountyRichmond CountyRockdale CountySchley CountyScreven CountySeminole CountySpalding CountyStephens CountyStewart CountySumter CountyTalbot CountyTaliaferro CountyTattnall CountyTaylor CountyTelfair CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift CountyToombs CountyTowns CountyTreutlen CountyTroup CountyTurner CountyTwiggs CountyUnion CountyUpson CountyWalker CountyWalton CountyWare CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWebster CountyWheeler CountyWhite CountyWhitfield CountyWilcox CountyWilkes CountyWilkinson CountyWorth CountyHickman Property data center campus · Denied
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area6,220,000sq ft
Site736acres

Who is behind it

ProjectHickman Property data center campusAlso: Liberty Road data center, East Dothan Village (applicant)
Developer and teamEast Village Dothan, LLC
EdgeConneX (named by Times-Georgian)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. Commissioners voted 4-1 to deny the map amendment, PUD rezoning and special-use permits after the planning commission unanimously recommended denial; the revised plan by then described six buildings totaling 4.4 million sq ft, with most of the land left as green space. (FOX 5 Atlanta, July 8, 2026; Times-Georgian, July 10, 2026; WSB Radio, July 8, 2026)

  2. Residents near the Liberty Road exit organized against the proposal ahead of the first county public hearing, set for the following Tuesday. (FOX 5 Atlanta, July 3, 2026)

  3. Douglas County submitted a DRI for 11 data center buildings totaling 6.22 million sq ft plus three small warehouses on about 701 acres in unincorporated Douglas and 35 acres in Villa Rica. (Georgia Department of Community Affairs, March 14, 2025; Georgia Department of Community Affairs, March 14, 2025; Georgia Department of Community Affairs, Oct. 30, 2026; The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, March 17, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Size changed between filings: the 2025 DRI lists 11 buildings and 6.22 million sq ft; July 2026 coverage describes six buildings and 4.4 million sq ft on about 130 developable acres.
  • Times-Georgian says this was the second time in about seven months that commissioners rejected a large data center for the property; the date of the first rejection was not found.
  • The DRI's peak electrical load field was left blank; AJC said the campus would likely need several hundred MW (not used as mw).
  • Distinct from the Waldrop Farm/Post Road site in Winston, about 2.6 miles away.
  • About 130 acres would be built, with more than 570 acres kept as green space.
  • Denial date: the vote was on a Tuesday per FOX 5 (July 8, 2026) and the Times-Georgian; FOX 5's July 3 preview set the hearing for the following Tuesday, so July 7, 2026 is inferred.
  • Building count varies: 11 (2025 DRI), five (FOX 5 preview, July 2026) and six (Times-Georgian at the vote).
  • Acreage: DRI gives 700.69 acres in unincorporated Douglas plus 35.47 acres in Villa Rica (736 total); press reports say about 700 acres.

The full record

Status note
Douglas commissioners voted 4-1 to deny the land-use amendment, rezoning and special-use permits after planning staff and the planning commission recommended denial.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.