Data center campus · Kalanimoku Building basement, Punchbowl Street, downtown Honolulu, Honolulu County, Hawaii

State of Hawaii Data Center (Kalanimoku Building)

Operating as of 2024

The state's primary government data center, in the basement of a state office building near the Capitol. Lawmakers and officials have described it as aging and prone to flooding. Also known as: ETS primary data center.

Cite← Hawaii data centers
Hawaii CountyHonolulu CountyKalawao CountyKauai CountyMaui CountyState of Hawaii Data Center (Kalanimoku Building) · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found

Who is behind it

ProjectState of Hawaii Data Center (Kalanimoku Building)Also: ETS primary data center
Developer and teamState of Hawaii Office of Enterprise Technology Services
End userState of Hawaii

The record, newest first

  1. Civil Beat reports that about 70% of state data has moved to out-of-state servers. Sensitive data such as criminal justice and tax records stays in the basement, and funding to relocate has not been approved. (Honolulu Civil Beat, June 22, 2023)

  2. The state's data center relocation budget is cut from $5 million to $1 million. (Data Center Dynamics, undated)

  3. Senate Bill 284 proposes decommissioning the Kalanimoku facility and moving the state's data center to a single standalone site. The bill says the center was created more than 40 years ago. (Hawaii State Legislature, 2024)

  4. The state signs an agreement to back up some Kalanimoku systems at the University of Hawaii data center. (State of Hawaii Office of Enterprise Technology Services, March 15, 2016)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Whether SB 284 was enacted was not confirmed.
  • The state also runs satellite capacity at the University of Hawaii IT Center and at a commercial data center.

The full record

Status note
The text of Senate Bill 284 (introduced in 2023 and carried into the 2024 session) describes this as the state's primary data center. Later records confirming it is still in use, or that it has moved, were not found.
Power note
Not reported.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.