License-plate readers · Douglas

Douglas

Using license-plate readers · 4 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Baker CountyBenton CountyClackamas CountyClatsop CountyColumbia CountyCoos CountyCrook CountyCurry CountyDeschutes CountyDouglas CountyGilliam CountyGrant CountyHarney CountyHood River CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyJosephine CountyKlamath CountyLake CountyLane CountyLincoln CountyLinn CountyMalheur CountyMarion CountyMorrow CountyMultnomah CountyPolk CountySherman CountyTillamook CountyUmatilla CountyUnion CountyWallowa CountyWasco CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyYamhill County

Douglas County Sheriff's Office

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
Count not reported.
Sources
KMTR / NBC16, July 27, 2026
  1. July 27, 2026 NBC16 reported that the Sheriff's Office uses Flock cameras. The office said a county resolution stating it does not intend to be a sanctuary jurisdiction does not mean it will share plate data with immigration authorities, and that data is typically shared only with Oregon jurisdictions. (KMTR / NBC16, July 27, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Camera count, contract and transparency portal were not found.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Roseburg Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
15
15 license plate reader cameras under the city's Flock contract, per KVAL (Sept. 29, 2026).
Contract
Flock Safety: period not stated · from 2023 · to 2028 · approved by City Council · KVAL reports the council first authorized the contract in 2023 and renewed it in February 2026; it expires in 2028. Cost not reported. (KVAL, Sept. 29, 2026)
Sources
KMTR / NBC16, July 27, 2026
  1. Feb. 2026 The City Council renewed the Flock contract, first authorized in 2023; KVAL says it expires in 2028. (KVAL, Sept. 29, 2026)
  2. Sept. 28, 2026 Residents raised privacy and safety concerns about the Flock cameras at a City Council meeting. The council took no vote on the contract or on adding cameras, and a police presentation on Flock was put off to a later date because of time limits. (KVAL, Sept. 29, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Named by NBC16 in July 2026 as a Douglas County agency using Flock.
  • The postponed police presentation is in the Sept. 28, 2026 agenda packet, per KVAL; the packet itself was not opened.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Sutherlin Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
Count not reported.
Sources
KMTR / NBC16, July 27, 2026
Conflicts and open questions
  • Named by NBC16 in July 2026 as a Douglas County agency using Flock. No further detail found.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Winston Police Department

Status
Ended or removed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
8
Eight roadside Flock cameras, per Jefferson Public Radio (Aug. 2026).
Contract
Flock Safety: $24,000 year (Jefferson Public Radio, Aug. 19, 2026)
Sources
Jefferson Public Radio, Aug. 19, 2026
  1. July 30, 2026 Winston published Police Policy 473 on ALPRs, with 30-day retention and no federal or out-of-state access except as SB 1516 allows. (City of Winston / Winston Police Department, July 30, 2026)
  2. Aug. 2026 The city ended its Flock contract as part of more than $215,000 in required police budget cuts. Chief Brandon Sarti called it a 'clear choice' and said federal authorities had no access to Winston's system. JPR said Winston was the first Douglas County city to drop Flock. (Jefferson Public Radio, Aug. 19, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The chief announced the decision at a Monday council meeting in August 2026, before JPR's Aug. 19 story; no vote was reported. No contract end date was reported. Camera removal was not confirmed.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Statewide

  1. July 25, 2025 U.S. Sen. Ron Wyden announced an agreement with Flock Safety barring out-of-state agencies from running searches of Oregon camera data tied to abortion or immigration; searches among Oregon agencies were not affected. Wyden had contacted Attorney General Dan Rayfield and Oregon State Police, who told him Oregon had no statewide policy on plate-reader data access. (KLCC, July 25, 2025)
  2. Oct. 16, 2025 Wyden said his office's review found Flock's search filters could be bypassed and that Flock does not proactively audit searches; he urged local officials to consider removing Flock cameras. (Office of U.S. Sen. Ron Wyden, Oct. 16, 2025)
  3. Nov. 17, 2025 The Senate Judiciary Committee, chaired by Sen. Floyd Prozanski (D-Eugene), held an informational hearing on license plate readers ahead of the 2026 session; the Oregon Association Chiefs of Police said Oregon departments comply with the state sanctuary law. (KLCC, Nov. 17, 2025)
  4. Dec. 2025 In mid-December 2025, Prozanski said he had assembled a work group of police, the ACLU and the anti-surveillance group Eyes Off Eugene to write plate-reader rules for the 2026 session, and that any rules must fit Oregon's shield and sanctuary laws. (KLCC, Dec. 15, 2025)
  5. March 5, 2026 The Legislature passed Senate Bill 1516, a public safety omnibus bill containing plate-reader rules; the Senate vote was 27-0 (February) and the House vote 54-3. The House Rules Committee had recommended the A-engrossed bill 7-0 on March 3, 2026. (The Oregonian/OregonLive (republished by GovTech), March 6, 2026; Oregon Legislature, March 3, 2026; KLCC, March 6, 2026)
  6. March 31, 2026 Gov. Tina Kotek signed SB 1516, effective on signing under an emergency clause. It limits plate-reader data retention to 30 days unless tied to a criminal investigation or court proceeding, requires a logged purpose for each search, bars use for immigration enforcement (the staff summary cites ORS 181A.820), limits searches by non-Oregon agencies to discrete law-enforcement-relevant requests that must be logged, makes agencies the data owners, requires vendors to produce monthly and quarterly audits that agencies publish, exempts plate data from public records, and creates a private right of action against vendors for intentional or grossly negligent sharing. Local governments may adopt stricter rules. (Oregon Capital Chronicle (republished by OPB), April 23, 2026; Oregon Legislature, March 3, 2026; Willamette Week, June 29, 2026; KLCC, March 6, 2026)
  7. April 2026 ODOT said its current policy does not allow ALPRs within state highway right of way and that it would work with Flock and law enforcement to remove or relocate cameras installed along Highway 199 in Cave Junction. (KOBI-TV NBC5, April 2026)
  8. June 29, 2026 Willamette Week reported that Albany, Bend, Eugene, Springfield and Woodburn had turned off Flock cameras, with Woodburn removing its cameras after an audit showed immigration agencies had accessed its data. (Willamette Week, June 29, 2026)
  9. Sept. 11, 2026 A statewide roundup listed Bend, Eugene, Springfield, Talent, Winston and Woodburn as having canceled or suspended Flock contracts in recent months. (Willamette Week (Oregon Journalism Project), Sept. 11, 2026)
  10. Sept. 2026 The Oregon Capital Chronicle reported that Reps. Willy Chotzen (D-Portland) and Alek Skarlatos (R-Winston) are pursuing 2027 legislation that could ban Flock cameras statewide; Chotzen spoke to the outlet and Skarlatos did not respond. Flock argued a blanket ban would take away an investigative tool. (Oregon Capital Chronicle (republished by OPB), Sept. 25, 2026)

State agencies

Oregon State Police

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Axon
Cameras
Count not documented
In-car plate readers in patrol vehicles, part of Axon's Fleet 3 camera system; the number of vehicles was not reported.
Sources
Lookout Eugene-Springfield, Nov. 9, 2025
  1. June 2025 OSP began replacing its patrol-car camera system with Axon Fleet 3 cameras, which read license plates. A spokesperson said OSP owns the plate data, does not share it with Axon, does not keep it indefinitely, and uses it for missing or endangered people and serious crimes under its policy. (Lookout Eugene-Springfield, Nov. 9, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Start month per an OSP spokesperson quoted in November 2025.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.