License-plate readers · Jackson

Jackson

Using license-plate readers · 9 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Baker CountyBenton CountyClackamas CountyClatsop CountyColumbia CountyCoos CountyCrook CountyCurry CountyDeschutes CountyDouglas CountyGilliam CountyGrant CountyHarney CountyHood River CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyJosephine CountyKlamath CountyLake CountyLane CountyLincoln CountyLinn CountyMalheur CountyMarion CountyMorrow CountyMultnomah CountyPolk CountySherman CountyTillamook CountyUmatilla CountyUnion CountyWallowa CountyWasco CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyYamhill County

Ashland Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Cameras
Count not documented
No fixed ALPRs; mobile ALPR units in police vehicles (number and vendor not stated), per Chief Tighe O'Meara, Aug. 2026.
Sources
Ashland.news (republished by Rogue Valley Times), Aug. 15, 2026; Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026
  1. Dec. 2025 Police officials said Ashland did not use Flock cameras and had no plans to add them. (Rogue Valley Times, Dec. 26, 2025)
  2. Aug. 2026 Chief Tighe O'Meara said the city has no fixed license plate readers and uses in-vehicle units that alert only for stolen vehicles, missing persons and felony warrants; he said there is no active plan for pole-mounted cameras. Public Works said devices reported at Ashland Street and Walker Avenue are radar signal-detection sensors that do not store images. (Ashland.news (republished by Rogue Valley Times), Aug. 15, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Data sharing per chief: not shared with immigration officials for administrative immigration enforcement or with outside agencies, except case by case when a requesting agency gives a legitimate reason.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Central Point Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
3
3 Flock cameras, per the Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 2026.
Contract
Flock Safety: $3,000 year (Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026)
Sources
Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026
Conflicts and open questions
  • Paid from the investigations budget per the Rogue Valley Times. Chief Scott Logue credited the cameras with helping find stolen cars and pin down vehicles involved in thefts and hit-and-run crashes.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Eagle Point Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
5
5 Flock cameras since December 2024; four were offline after vandalism as of Sept. 2026, per the Rogue Valley Times.
Contract
Flock Safety: $3,000 per camera year · from Dec. 2024 (Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026)
Sources
Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026
  1. Sept. 2026 Vandalism had knocked four of the department's five Flock cameras offline; Chief Jim Hamilton said the city plans to fund at least three cameras going forward. (Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Vandalism date not stated; event dated by article. No suspect named. Start month of December 2024 is the camera deployment date per RVT, not a confirmed contract date.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Jackson County Sheriff's Office

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
20
20 Flock cameras in rural areas of the county, in use since 2023, per the Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 2026.
Sources
Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026; Ashland.news (republished by Rogue Valley Times), Aug. 15, 2026
  1. July 27, 2026 A sheriff's office spokesperson said by email that the office uses Flock cameras in the county, though not at a reported Ashland location. (Ashland.news (republished by Rogue Valley Times), Aug. 15, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Per the Rogue Valley Times, the office shares Flock data with Oregon agencies case by case, requires a formal written request from outside agencies, and its policy forbids using the data for administrative or immigration purposes. Contract amount and approval not found.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Jacksonville Police Department

Status
Checked: no program found
Vendors
Cameras
Count not documented
Police Clerk Tracy Peterson said by email that Flock cameras are not used in Jacksonville and are not being considered (Sept. 2026).
Sources
Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026
Conflicts and open questions

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Medford Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
24
24 fixed Flock Safety cameras plus an unstated number of mobile units, per the department as reported by the Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 2026.
Contract
Flock Safety: about $65,000 year (Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026)
Sources
Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026; Jefferson Public Radio, Aug. 13, 2026
  1. Dec. 2025 A city spokesperson said Medford was aware of Talent's pause, was monitoring the regional discussion, and uses license plate readers in limited locations. (Rogue Valley Times, Dec. 26, 2025)
  2. Sept. 2026 Police Chief Trevor Arnold said the department took part in drafting Senate Bill 1516 and planned a presentation to the city's Police Advisory Committee; no date was set. (Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Cost is funded from the police budget per RVT. The December 2025 event is dated by article date (statement given before Dec. 26, 2025). The Flock transparency portal (transparency.flocksafety.com/medford-or-pd) could not be loaded in this session.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Phoenix Police Department

Status
Checked: no program found
Vendors
Cameras
Count not documented
Department said it has never used Flock cameras or ALPRs (Sept. 2026).
Sources
Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026; Rogue Valley Times, Dec. 26, 2025
Conflicts and open questions
  • Quoted to RVT: has 'never used FLOCK cameras or ALPRs' and has no plans to.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Rogue River Police Department

Status
Checked: no program found
Vendors
Cameras
Count not documented
Chief said the department has never used Flock and is not pursuing it (Sept. 2026).
Sources
Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026
Conflicts and open questions

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Talent Police Department

Status
Ended or removed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
4
4 Flock cameras: two on West Valley View Road, one on North Pacific Highway, one on South Pacific Highway, per the Rogue Valley Times, Dec. 2025.
Contract
Flock Safety: · to Feb. 2026 · approved by City of Talent (approved 2024; funded by a Criminal Justice Commission grant) (Rogue Valley Times, Dec. 26, 2025)
Sources
Rogue Valley Times, Dec. 26, 2025; Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026
  1. Dec. 17, 2025 City council unanimously voted to pause the city's Flock cameras and stop previously permitted data sharing; the police chief had turned the cameras off before the meeting and shut off data sharing afterward. Council asked staff for surveillance-technology and data-storage policy options. (Rogue Valley Times, Dec. 26, 2025)
  2. Sept. 2026 Police Chief Jennifer Snook said the department has no current plans to bring back its former Flock contract. (Rogue Valley Times, Sept. 4, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Status 'ended': paused Dec. 2025, contract was due to expire Feb. 2026 (per Dec. 2025 report), and the chief said in Sept. 2026 the department is not pursuing a return. Lapse of the contract and camera removal are not separately confirmed.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Statewide

  1. July 25, 2025 U.S. Sen. Ron Wyden announced an agreement with Flock Safety barring out-of-state agencies from running searches of Oregon camera data tied to abortion or immigration; searches among Oregon agencies were not affected. Wyden had contacted Attorney General Dan Rayfield and Oregon State Police, who told him Oregon had no statewide policy on plate-reader data access. (KLCC, July 25, 2025)
  2. Oct. 16, 2025 Wyden said his office's review found Flock's search filters could be bypassed and that Flock does not proactively audit searches; he urged local officials to consider removing Flock cameras. (Office of U.S. Sen. Ron Wyden, Oct. 16, 2025)
  3. Nov. 17, 2025 The Senate Judiciary Committee, chaired by Sen. Floyd Prozanski (D-Eugene), held an informational hearing on license plate readers ahead of the 2026 session; the Oregon Association Chiefs of Police said Oregon departments comply with the state sanctuary law. (KLCC, Nov. 17, 2025)
  4. Dec. 2025 In mid-December 2025, Prozanski said he had assembled a work group of police, the ACLU and the anti-surveillance group Eyes Off Eugene to write plate-reader rules for the 2026 session, and that any rules must fit Oregon's shield and sanctuary laws. (KLCC, Dec. 15, 2025)
  5. March 5, 2026 The Legislature passed Senate Bill 1516, a public safety omnibus bill containing plate-reader rules; the Senate vote was 27-0 (February) and the House vote 54-3. The House Rules Committee had recommended the A-engrossed bill 7-0 on March 3, 2026. (The Oregonian/OregonLive (republished by GovTech), March 6, 2026; Oregon Legislature, March 3, 2026; KLCC, March 6, 2026)
  6. March 31, 2026 Gov. Tina Kotek signed SB 1516, effective on signing under an emergency clause. It limits plate-reader data retention to 30 days unless tied to a criminal investigation or court proceeding, requires a logged purpose for each search, bars use for immigration enforcement (the staff summary cites ORS 181A.820), limits searches by non-Oregon agencies to discrete law-enforcement-relevant requests that must be logged, makes agencies the data owners, requires vendors to produce monthly and quarterly audits that agencies publish, exempts plate data from public records, and creates a private right of action against vendors for intentional or grossly negligent sharing. Local governments may adopt stricter rules. (Oregon Capital Chronicle (republished by OPB), April 23, 2026; Oregon Legislature, March 3, 2026; Willamette Week, June 29, 2026; KLCC, March 6, 2026)
  7. April 2026 ODOT said its current policy does not allow ALPRs within state highway right of way and that it would work with Flock and law enforcement to remove or relocate cameras installed along Highway 199 in Cave Junction. (KOBI-TV NBC5, April 2026)
  8. June 29, 2026 Willamette Week reported that Albany, Bend, Eugene, Springfield and Woodburn had turned off Flock cameras, with Woodburn removing its cameras after an audit showed immigration agencies had accessed its data. (Willamette Week, June 29, 2026)
  9. Sept. 11, 2026 A statewide roundup listed Bend, Eugene, Springfield, Talent, Winston and Woodburn as having canceled or suspended Flock contracts in recent months. (Willamette Week (Oregon Journalism Project), Sept. 11, 2026)
  10. Sept. 2026 The Oregon Capital Chronicle reported that Reps. Willy Chotzen (D-Portland) and Alek Skarlatos (R-Winston) are pursuing 2027 legislation that could ban Flock cameras statewide; Chotzen spoke to the outlet and Skarlatos did not respond. Flock argued a blanket ban would take away an investigative tool. (Oregon Capital Chronicle (republished by OPB), Sept. 25, 2026)

State agencies

Oregon State Police

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Axon
Cameras
Count not documented
In-car plate readers in patrol vehicles, part of Axon's Fleet 3 camera system; the number of vehicles was not reported.
Sources
Lookout Eugene-Springfield, Nov. 9, 2025
  1. June 2025 OSP began replacing its patrol-car camera system with Axon Fleet 3 cameras, which read license plates. A spokesperson said OSP owns the plate data, does not share it with Axon, does not keep it indefinitely, and uses it for missing or endangered people and serious crimes under its policy. (Lookout Eugene-Springfield, Nov. 9, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Start month per an OSP spokesperson quoted in November 2025.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.