Data center campus · Near Hands Mill Highway and Campbell Road, unincorporated York County (Clover / Lake Wylie area), York County, South Carolina

QTS York County campus

Under construction as of May 14, 2026

QTS is building a multi-building data center campus on roughly 400 acres near Hands Mill Highway in York County, on land partly bought from the county, with a FILOT deal approved in 2023 and the first building expected in 2028. Also known as: Project Cobra, QTS York I LLC, QTS York II LLC.

Cite← South Carolina data centers
Abbeville CountyAiken CountyAllendale CountyAnderson CountyBamberg CountyBarnwell CountyBeaufort CountyBerkeley CountyCalhoun CountyCharleston CountyCherokee CountyChester CountyChesterfield CountyClarendon CountyColleton CountyDarlington CountyDillon CountyDorchester CountyEdgefield CountyFairfield CountyFlorence CountyGeorgetown CountyGreenville CountyGreenwood CountyHampton CountyHorry CountyJasper CountyKershaw CountyLancaster CountyLaurens CountyLee CountyLexington CountyMarion CountyMarlboro CountyMcCormick CountyNewberry CountyOconee CountyOrangeburg CountyPickens CountyRichland CountySaluda CountySpartanburg CountySumter CountyUnion CountyWilliamsburg CountyYork CountyQTS York County campus · Under construction
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site400acres

Who is behind it

ProjectQTS York County campusAlso: Project Cobra, QTS York I LLC, QTS York II LLC
Developer and teamQTS Data Centers (through QTS York I LLC; QTS York II LLC)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. York County Council adopted a nine-month moratorium on new data center approvals in unincorporated areas; the county says projects with vested rights, such as QTS's approved site plans, are not affected. (York County, S.C., Oct. 24, 2026)

  2. At a second community meeting, QTS said phase one has four buildings and it is evaluating about nine buildings in total, beyond what is already approved. (The Post and Courier, May 14, 2026)

  3. Neighbors described blasting, noise and lighting from construction; county council had just given first reading to new data center development standards. (WBTV, Feb. 10, 2026)

  4. QTS held a public question-and-answer session in Clover; it said York Electric Cooperative would supply power and that QTS was paying for grid studies and upgrades. (The Post and Courier, Nov. 7, 2025)

  5. County Council approved a zoning text amendment allowing taller buildings, which affected the QTS site. (York County, S.C., Oct. 24, 2026)

  6. The governor's office announced a $1 billion QTS investment, its first in South Carolina, with a $200,000 state Set-Aside grant to the county for site preparation. (Office of the Governor of South Carolina, Sept. 19, 2023; Data Center Dynamics, Sept. 20, 2023)

  7. York County Council gave final approval to a fee-in-lieu-of-tax agreement for QTS after three readings and a public hearing. (York County, S.C., Oct. 24, 2026)

  8. Two QTS-affiliated companies bought about 400 acres in three deals worth more than $11.2 million, including the county-owned tract marketed as Project Cobra. (Data Center Dynamics, July 26, 2023; York County, S.C., Oct. 24, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Acreage differs by source: about 400 acres total in 2023 land records reporting; the county page cites 173 acres bought from the county plus land from a private seller; 2025 reporting cites 170 acres bought from the county. Some later-acquired land is zoned agricultural or rural and has not been rezoned, per the county.
  • Building count differs: the county page says nine buildings in various stages; QTS said in May 2026 that four are in phase one and about nine are under evaluation.
  • Investment figures range from $1 billion (2023 announcement) to more than $8 billion (county page, long-term).
  • Coordinates approximate, Hands Mill Highway and Campbell Road area.

The full record

Status note
Construction began in 2025; QTS said at a May 2026 community meeting that the first building should be running in 2028 and a second construction round would start in 2027.
Power note
No megawatt figure found in county records or reporting; a 2023 trade report said QTS's site page advertised 'hundreds' of megawatts.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.