Data center campus · southeast corner of Gifco Road and Quarry Road, Midlothian, Ellis County, Texas
Gifco and Quarry roads data center rezoning (PD-186), Midlothian
Proposed
as of April 15, 2025
About 167 acres at Gifco and Quarry roads in Midlothian proposed for rezoning from agricultural to a data center planned development (PD-186); the applicant is not named in the city agenda. Also known as: PD-186, Z30-2024-131.
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site167.3acres
Who is behind it
ProjectGifco and Quarry roads data center rezoning (PD-186), MidlothianAlso: PD-186, Z30-2024-131
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.
The record, newest first
Midlothian's planning and zoning commission held a public hearing on case Z30-2024-131, a request to rezone about 167.3 acres at the southeast corner of Gifco and Quarry roads from agricultural to PD-186 for a data center; the meeting's automatic transcript records a motion to approve, a second and a voice vote with no opposition noted. (City of Midlothian, April 15, 2025; City of Midlothian (Swagit), April 15, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
- The developer is not named in the city agenda. The meeting's machine transcript garbles the presenter's company name, and the only other source naming a company is an automated summary site, so no developer is listed until a council record or credited reporting confirms it.
- The presentation, per the machine transcript, described about four data halls of roughly 820,000 sq ft each, an on-site power plant for each phase and a substation; these figures are unverified.
- The transcript mentions 120 MW in a garbled passage, so no MW figure is recorded.
- City council action was reported only by an automated summary site and is not used; council minutes or the PD-186 ordinance should be checked.
- Coordinates are Midlothian, approximate; the exact parcel location was not geocoded.
The full record
- Status note
- The planning and zoning commission heard the rezoning on April 15, 2025; no city council minutes or ordinance were opened, so final action is not confirmed.
- Evidence
- Primary public records
- Size class
- 50 MW or more (tracker scope)