Data center campus · Four sites along Kings Highway (Route 3) near the Rappahannock River, including the northeast corner of Kings Highway and Forest Lane and land near Albion Lane, George Washington District, Stafford, Virginia

Kings Corridor Technology Campus

Proposed as of Oct. 13, 2026

A data center proposal spread over four Stafford sites on Route 3 totaling more than 1,500 acres, which county staff recommended denying in October 2026. Also known as: Forest Lane Data Center, Project Sisson (Sisson North and Sisson South), Simms Farm.

Cite← Virginia data centers
AccomackAlbemarleAlexandriaAlleghanyAmeliaAmherstAppomattoxArlingtonAugustaBathBedfordBlandBotetourtBristolBrunswickBuchananBuckinghamBuena VistaCampbellCarolineCarrollCharles CityCharlotteCharlottesvilleChesapeakeChesterfieldClarkeColonial HeightsCovingtonCraigCulpeperCumberlandDanvilleDickensonDinwiddieEmporiaEssexFairfaxFairfax (city)Falls ChurchFauquierFloydFluvannaFranklinFranklin (city)FrederickFredericksburgGalaxGilesGloucesterGoochlandGraysonGreeneGreensvilleHalifaxHamptonHanoverHarrisonburgHenricoHenryHighlandHopewellIsle of WightJames CityKing and QueenKing GeorgeKing WilliamLancasterLeeLexingtonLoudounLouisaLunenburgLynchburgMadisonManassasManassas ParkMartinsvilleMathewsMecklenburgMiddlesexMontgomeryNelsonNew KentNewport NewsNorfolkNorthamptonNorthumberlandNortonNottowayOrangePagePatrickPetersburgPittsylvaniaPoquosonPortsmouthPowhatanPrince EdwardPrince GeorgePrince WilliamPulaskiRadfordRappahannockRichmondRichmond (city)RoanokeRoanoke (city)RockbridgeRockinghamRussellSalemScottShenandoahSmythSouthamptonSpotsylvaniaStaffordStauntonSuffolkSurrySussexTazewellVirginia BeachWarrenWashingtonWaynesboroWestmorelandWilliamsburgWinchesterWiseWytheYorkKings Corridor Technology Campus · Proposed
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site1,500acres

Who is behind it

ProjectKings Corridor Technology CampusAlso: Forest Lane Data Center, Project Sisson (Sisson North and Sisson South), Simms Farm
Developer and teamPeterson Companies (through affiliate Real Estate Pursuits 2 LC)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. Staff recommended denial of the Simms Farm, Forest Lane, Sisson South and Sisson North applications, citing the comprehensive plan, rural land designations outside the urban services area and three proposed substations; the Oct. 14 commission hearing was rescheduled to Nov. 18. (WJLA 7News, Oct. 13, 2026)

  2. The developer's attorney projected about $245 million a year in county revenue at full build-out, more than $80 million in county water infrastructure and 55% open space. (WJLA 7News, Oct. 9, 2026)

  3. Potomac Local reported the Forest Lane request covered about 845 acres under applications RC25156546 and CUP25156542 and tied the applicant to Peterson Companies, which was also pursuing Project Sisson near Albion Lane. (Potomac Local News, June 9, 2026)

  4. DCD reported that Real Estate Pursuits 2 LC had asked to rezone about 850 acres near Kings Highway and Forest Lane from agricultural and light industrial to heavy industrial, with a separate request for a substation. (DatacenterDynamics, July 29, 2025)

  5. DCD reported that a Peterson affiliate had applied to the Army Corps for Project Sisson near Albion Lane: 16 two-story data center buildings totaling 3.8 million sq ft and four substations. (DatacenterDynamics, undated)

Conflicts and open questions

  • One project for four separately filed sites marketed under one campus name; the sites are not contiguous. Split if the county treats them as separate campuses.
  • Acreage is 'more than 1,500 acres' across the four sites (WJLA); Forest Lane is about 845 to 850 acres.
  • WJLA's Oct. 9 report says one of the four sites is across the river in Spotsylvania County, while its Oct. 13 report describes Stafford staff reviewing all four applications; unresolved.
  • The applicant for Simms Farm is not named in the sources opened; Peterson's link is reported for Forest Lane and Sisson.
  • DCD's Project Sisson article gives no date; it reports a U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (Norfolk District) permit application filed through Timmons Group for Real Estate Pursuits 2 LC, with about 4 acres of wetland or open-water impact and four substations.
  • No county staff report was opened; evidence is from reporting only.
  • DCD reported an Army Corps filing describing Project Sisson alone as 16 two-story buildings totaling 3.8 million sq ft; a speaker at a June 2026 supervisors' meeting described about 11 million sq ft along the Kings Highway assemblage (Potomac Local). No application total was found.

The full record

Status note
County staff recommended denial of all four applications; the planning commission hearing was moved from Oct. 14 to Nov. 18, 2026.
Power note
No power figure appears in the sources opened.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.