Data center campus · West of Kearneysville off Charles Town Road (WV 115); site straddles the Berkeley-Jefferson county line, Berkeley County, West Virginia

QTS Kearneysville campus

Approved as of March 2025

QTS holds about 300 acres west of Kearneysville split between Berkeley and Jefferson counties, where Berkeley County approved a concept plan for two data center buildings in 2025.

Cite← West Virginia data centers
Barbour CountyBerkeley CountyBoone CountyBraxton CountyBrooke CountyCabell CountyCalhoun CountyClay CountyDoddridge CountyFayette CountyGilmer CountyGrant CountyGreenbrier CountyHampshire CountyHancock CountyHardy CountyHarrison CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyKanawha CountyLewis CountyLincoln CountyLogan CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMason CountyMcDowell CountyMercer CountyMineral CountyMingo CountyMonongalia CountyMonroe CountyMorgan CountyNicholas CountyOhio CountyPendleton CountyPleasants CountyPocahontas CountyPreston CountyPutnam CountyRaleigh CountyRandolph CountyRitchie CountyRoane CountySummers CountyTaylor CountyTucker CountyTyler CountyUpshur CountyWayne CountyWebster CountyWetzel CountyWirt CountyWood CountyWyoming CountyQTS Kearneysville campus · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site300acres

Who is behind it

ProjectQTS Kearneysville campus
Developer and teamQTS Data Centers (through IB10 Martinsburg LLC (bought the land in July 2024))
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. Local reporting said the project appears to meet the high-impact data center criteria but has not been announced as certified, and that county permit records showed no activity after April 2026. (The Observer (ObserverWV), Aug. 13, 2026)

  2. Local reporting identified QTS as the developer of the Kearneysville data center. (The Observer (ObserverWV), April 30, 2026)

  3. Berkeley County's Planning Commission approved a concept plan for two data center buildings, an electrical switching station, a water tank, a guard shack and stormwater ponds on a 90-acre parcel; Jefferson County's planners had not yet received plans for the 191-acre industrial parcel there. (The Observer (ObserverWV), April 7, 2025)

  4. IB10 Martinsburg LLC bought about 300 acres in three parcels from the F.O. Day Company. (The Observer (ObserverWV), April 7, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • County set to Berkeley because the approved building parcel is there; 191 acres are in Jefferson County.
  • Berkeley acreage reported as a 90-acre parcel plus an access strip (April 2025) and as 110 acres (August 2026).
  • QTS is not named as the buyer in the 2025 story, but QTS answered questions about the project and later reporting calls it QTS's Kearneysville project.
  • Approval is known from reporting; the concept plan record itself was not opened.
  • Status changed from stalled to approved on fact-check: the latest record is the concept plan approval; inactivity is noted, not a recorded block.

The full record

Status note
The Berkeley County Planning Commission approved a concept plan in March 2025; local reporting said the county's online permit system showed no activity on the project after April 2026.
Power note
No capacity stated; the site has access to two high-capacity transmission lines and a natural gas pipeline.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.