Data center campus · Industrial land in the Mesquite Lake Specific Plan area, between Brawley and Imperial, Imperial County, California

Tomcat Development data center, Mesquite Lake

Proposed as of June 4, 2026

A data center proposed in an industrial plan area, whose developers asked to build without CEQA review on the view that it is a permitted use.

Cite← California data centers
Alameda CountyAlpine CountyAmador CountyButte CountyCalaveras CountyColusa CountyContra Costa CountyDel Norte CountyEl Dorado CountyFresno CountyGlenn CountyHumboldt CountyImperial CountyInyo CountyKern CountyKings CountyLake CountyLassen CountyLos Angeles CountyMadera CountyMarin CountyMariposa CountyMendocino CountyMerced CountyModoc CountyMono CountyMonterey CountyNapa CountyNevada CountyOrange CountyPlacer CountyPlumas CountyRiverside CountySacramento CountySan Benito CountySan Bernardino CountySan Diego CountySan Francisco CountySan Joaquin CountySan Luis Obispo CountySan Mateo CountySanta Barbara CountySanta Clara CountySanta Cruz CountyShasta CountySierra CountySiskiyou CountySolano CountySonoma CountyStanislaus CountySutter CountyTehama CountyTrinity CountyTulare CountyTuolumne CountyVentura CountyYolo CountyYuba CountyTomcat Development data center, Mesquite Lake · Proposed
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found

Who is behind it

ProjectTomcat Development data center, Mesquite Lake
Developer and teamTomcat Development
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. A county staff report cited multiple other data center applications pending in the plan area, unnamed, as supervisors reinstated a moratorium; the plan covers about 11 square miles. (KPBS, Oct. 8, 2026; Calexico Chronicle, Oct. 7, 2026)

  2. inewsource reported the developers' request and the county counsel's view that an ordinance could reach projects in the pipeline. It also said a draft resolution excepted some projects, including a new data center on unincorporated land, without saying whether that meant this one. (inewsource, June 4, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Size is unreported, so this record may be under the 50 MW floor. The other Mesquite Lake applications remain unnamed in every source opened; the county staff report itself was not opened.

The full record

Status note
Latest record naming this project is June 2026. The county's Oct. 6 moratorium cites unnamed requests in the same plan area; we could not confirm this project is among them.
Power note
Power and size not reported.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.