Data center campus · 8036 Hood Road, east Charlotte, near Reedy Creek Nature Preserve, Mecklenburg County, North Carolina

American Tower Hood Road data center

Proposed as of Nov. 2, 2026

American Tower wants a rezoning to add up to 40,000 square feet of office, data storage and telecommunications space at its Hood Road tower site, a request that drew a large opposition petition and remains pending.

Cite← North Carolina data centers
Alamance CountyAlexander CountyAlleghany CountyAnson CountyAshe CountyAvery CountyBeaufort CountyBertie CountyBladen CountyBrunswick CountyBuncombe CountyBurke CountyCabarrus CountyCaldwell CountyCamden CountyCarteret CountyCaswell CountyCatawba CountyChatham CountyCherokee CountyChowan CountyClay CountyCleveland CountyColumbus CountyCraven CountyCumberland CountyCurrituck CountyDare CountyDavidson CountyDavie CountyDuplin CountyDurham CountyEdgecombe CountyForsyth CountyFranklin CountyGaston CountyGates CountyGraham CountyGranville CountyGreene CountyGuilford CountyHalifax CountyHarnett CountyHaywood CountyHenderson CountyHertford CountyHoke CountyHyde CountyIredell CountyJackson CountyJohnston CountyJones CountyLee CountyLenoir CountyLincoln CountyMacon CountyMadison CountyMartin CountyMcDowell CountyMecklenburg CountyMitchell CountyMontgomery CountyMoore CountyNash CountyNew Hanover CountyNorthampton CountyOnslow CountyOrange CountyPamlico CountyPasquotank CountyPender CountyPerquimans CountyPerson CountyPitt CountyPolk CountyRandolph CountyRichmond CountyRobeson CountyRockingham CountyRowan CountyRutherford CountySampson CountyScotland CountyStanly CountyStokes CountySurry CountySwain CountyTransylvania CountyTyrrell CountyUnion CountyVance CountyWake CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWatauga CountyWayne CountyWilkes CountyWilson CountyYadkin CountyYancey CountyAmerican Tower Hood Road data center · Proposed
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area40,000sq ft
Site58acres

Who is behind it

ProjectAmerican Tower Hood Road data center
Developer and teamAmerican Tower
End userNot named; the company says it would sell server space to small and medium businesses (WFAE)

The record, newest first

  1. The city's petition page still lists the case as pending, with hearing, committee and council decision dates all pending. (City of Charlotte, Nov. 2, 2026)

  2. Charlotte extended its data center moratorium to no later than Oct. 18, 2027; the city FAQ does not say how pending petitions are treated. (WBTV, Oct. 26, 2026; City of Charlotte, Oct. 28, 2026)

  3. After the council's June 8 moratorium, The Real Deal reported a hearing on the request was on the agenda for Monday and would likely fall under the pause. (The Real Deal, June 12, 2026; Axios Charlotte, June 9, 2026)

  4. WSOC reported that the council hearing set for that evening had been moved to the next month, giving no reason or exact date. (WSOC-TV, May 18, 2026)

  5. About 15 people protested outside the government center during the zoning meeting; WCCB put the petition at more than 4,200 signatures. (WFAE, April 23, 2026; WCCB Charlotte, April 20, 2026)

  6. The petitioner asked to move the hearing to May 18, WFAE and WSOC reported; a city official told WFAE the company wanted more time with the community. (WFAE, April 17, 2026; WSOC-TV, April 17, 2026)

  7. WSOC reported a city hearing set for April 20 and an opposition petition with more than 3,200 signatures; the company described closed-loop cooling and about 2% of a hyperscale site's size and power. (WSOC-TV, April 2, 2026)

  8. The petitioner signed its community meeting report and a revised site plan carries the same date; the report caps the expansion at 40,000 square feet. (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning, March 16, 2026; City of Charlotte, Nov. 2, 2026)

  9. WFAE reported a Zoom community meeting set for Dec. 18 on a petition covering 10 acres of a 58-acre parcel. (WFAE, Dec. 15, 2025)

  10. American Tower Asset Sub LLC held a virtual community meeting on Petition 2025-120 with 50 attendees, according to its report to the city; the company told them the project was not hyperscale. (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning, March 16, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Acreage differs by measure: the city lists the petition at about 58 acres; WFAE describes 10 acres to be rezoned within a 58-acre parcel; WSOC reports a building footprint of about one acre.
  • The community meeting date differs: the petitioner's report says Dec. 1, 2025, while WFAE on Dec. 15 announced a Dec. 18 meeting. The report says more meetings would follow but does not mention Dec. 18.
  • ZIP code differs between city documents: 28215 on the petition page, 28211 on the meeting report's mailing list.
  • Existing use differs: WFAE reports a tower and small data storage facility on the site; the meeting report says a tower and office, while also calling the existing use telecommunications and data storage.
  • Distance to the preserve differs: The Real Deal says next to it; WSOC says about a mile away.
  • Whether the moratorium stops this petition is unsettled in the sources opened. The Observer's June 12 article on the hearing's status was not readable; only its summary loaded.
  • Well under the scope floor; kept because it is contested.

The full record

Status note
Rezoning Petition 2025-120 is listed as pending on the city's page; the city's data center moratorium now runs to no later than Oct. 18, 2027.
Power note
No power figure in the records; the company says about 2% of a hyperscale facility's power.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.