Data center campus · Off Zeb Haynes Road, Maiden, Catawba County, North Carolina

Microsoft Boyd Farms campus (Maiden)

Under construction as of May 2026

Microsoft's Boyd Farms campus in Maiden, one of the sites in its 2022 Catawba County plan, had foundation, utility and slab work under way in May 2026. Also known as: Project Yoga.

Cite← North Carolina data centers
Alamance CountyAlexander CountyAlleghany CountyAnson CountyAshe CountyAvery CountyBeaufort CountyBertie CountyBladen CountyBrunswick CountyBuncombe CountyBurke CountyCabarrus CountyCaldwell CountyCamden CountyCarteret CountyCaswell CountyCatawba CountyChatham CountyCherokee CountyChowan CountyClay CountyCleveland CountyColumbus CountyCraven CountyCumberland CountyCurrituck CountyDare CountyDavidson CountyDavie CountyDuplin CountyDurham CountyEdgecombe CountyForsyth CountyFranklin CountyGaston CountyGates CountyGraham CountyGranville CountyGreene CountyGuilford CountyHalifax CountyHarnett CountyHaywood CountyHenderson CountyHertford CountyHoke CountyHyde CountyIredell CountyJackson CountyJohnston CountyJones CountyLee CountyLenoir CountyLincoln CountyMacon CountyMadison CountyMartin CountyMcDowell CountyMecklenburg CountyMitchell CountyMontgomery CountyMoore CountyNash CountyNew Hanover CountyNorthampton CountyOnslow CountyOrange CountyPamlico CountyPasquotank CountyPender CountyPerquimans CountyPerson CountyPitt CountyPolk CountyRandolph CountyRichmond CountyRobeson CountyRockingham CountyRowan CountyRutherford CountySampson CountyScotland CountyStanly CountyStokes CountySurry CountySwain CountyTransylvania CountyTyrrell CountyUnion CountyVance CountyWake CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWatauga CountyWayne CountyWilkes CountyWilson CountyYadkin CountyYancey CountyMicrosoft Boyd Farms campus (Maiden) · Under construction
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site292acres

Who is behind it

ProjectMicrosoft Boyd Farms campus (Maiden)Also: Project Yoga
Developer and teamMicrosoft
End userMicrosoft

The record, newest first

  1. Group fact: the county's joint statement said Microsoft's sites will pay property tax on full value and the local agreements are being amended. It said Hickory supplies water to all data center sites in the county and projected about 1% of Hickory's daily water production capacity once fully operational, without giving a Microsoft-only or per-site figure. (Catawba County Government, June 23, 2026)

  2. Microsoft reported foundation, underground utility, electrical and slab work at Boyd Farms, with the first slab pour planned for early June; Clark Construction is now general contractor. (Microsoft Local, July 9, 2026)

  3. Building permits issued in November and December 2025 listed about $909 million in construction value, and crews were back at the sites, according to The Charlotte Observer's review of permit records as summarized by Hoodline. (Hoodline (citing The Charlotte Observer), Feb. 27, 2026)

  4. Microsoft said it had pushed back the timeline for some of the Catawba County work without giving a new schedule. (WSOC-TV / Charlotte Business Journal, April 16, 2025)

  5. Construction began at Boyd Farms in Maiden. (Microsoft Local, July 9, 2026; DatacenterDynamics, 2024)

  6. Group fact: Catawba County, Conover, Hickory, Maiden and the county economic development agency announced Microsoft's plan to invest at least $1 billion in four data centers over 10 years (as recounted in the county's 2026 statement). (Catawba County Government, June 23, 2026)

  7. Group fact: Hickory's announcement set out the sites and terms: grants of 50% on real and 85% on personal property over 10 years, with two possible five-year extensions, and a minimum of $332 million in each of Conover, Hickory and Maiden plus $33 million for the second Hickory site. (City of Hickory, Nov. 2022)

Conflicts and open questions

  • One of Microsoft's Catawba County sites under the same 2022 local incentive deal, split into separate records on Nov. 2, 2026. The deal covered four data centers; a fourth parcel of about 16 acres on Tate Boulevard in Hickory has no record of its own. The $1 billion, the grant terms and the water projection are group facts, not figures for this campus.
  • No power figure in the sources reviewed.

The full record

Power note
No power figure in the sources reviewed.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.