Data center campus · 71 New Hook Road, Bayonne, Hudson County, New Jersey

Delta Self-Storage site, New Hook Road, Bayonne

Site zoned or marketed as of Aug. 12, 2026

A self-storage site where Bayonne allowed data centers in 2025 and then banned them after public opposition; officials said no redeveloper was attached.

Cite← New Jersey data centers
Atlantic CountyBergen CountyBurlington CountyCamden CountyCape May CountyCumberland CountyEssex CountyGloucester CountyHudson CountyHunterdon CountyMercer CountyMiddlesex CountyMonmouth CountyMorris CountyOcean CountyPassaic CountySalem CountySomerset CountySussex CountyUnion CountyWarren CountyDelta Self-Storage site, New Hook Road, Bayonne · Site zoned or marketed
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found

Who is behind it

ProjectDelta Self-Storage site, New Hook Road, Bayonne
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. The council adopted Ordinance O-26-74 banning data centers citywide, leaving alone approvals already final and vested; the business administrator said earlier approvals on three sites were unlikely to advance without more approvals. (City of Bayonne, Aug. 13, 2026; HudPost, Aug. 14, 2026)

  2. The council voted 5-0 for two non-binding resolutions opposing data centers and ordering a study of rescinding the use; the planning director said no redeveloper was attached and site plan, redevelopment and financial agreements would still be needed. (Hudson County View, April 21, 2026)

  3. The Planning Board and City Council voted separately to amend the redevelopment plan to allow data centers on the site. (Hudson County View, April 21, 2026; Slice of Culture, May 28, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • HudPost does not name the three sites the business administrator discussed; that this is one of them is an inference. The other sites were not identified in any source opened.
  • Coordinates are approximate, from the reported address.

The full record

Status note
Data centers were made a permitted use here in December 2025, but no redeveloper was tied to the site and the city banned them citywide in August 2026.
Power note
No power figure in the sources reviewed. Under 50 MW or not is unknown.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.