Data center campus · 1000 Cloud Drive, Totowa (Block 154, Lot 10.04), Passaic County, New Jersey

Sycamore Data Center, Totowa

Approved as of Jan. 9, 2025

A data center on nearly 57 acres in Totowa, first approved in 2017, with final approval for a third phase and preliminary approval to grow to about 308,000 square feet with 32 generators. Also known as: 1000 Cloud Drive.

Cite← New Jersey data centers
Atlantic CountyBergen CountyBurlington CountyCamden CountyCape May CountyCumberland CountyEssex CountyGloucester CountyHudson CountyHunterdon CountyMercer CountyMiddlesex CountyMonmouth CountyMorris CountyOcean CountyPassaic CountySalem CountySomerset CountySussex CountyUnion CountyWarren CountySycamore Data Center, Totowa · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area307,818sq ft
Site56.66acres

Who is behind it

ProjectSycamore Data Center, TotowaAlso: 1000 Cloud Drive
Developer and teamSycamore Data Center (as the minutes title the application; owner not named)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. The board voted 6-2 for preliminary major site plan approval of the full build-out, requiring noise and light studies after Phase III. (Borough of Totowa Planning Board, Jan. 9, 2025)

  2. The Totowa Planning Board voted 5-0 to approve Phase III, bringing the building to 235,642 square feet, in a redesign of a data center approved in 2017; the full build-out of 307,818 square feet and 32 generators was carried over. (Borough of Totowa Planning Board, Dec. 12, 2024)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Found while looking for Digital Realty's Totowa records; no document opened links it to Digital Realty or names the owner.
  • The minutes do not say which phases are built, so this is kept as approved rather than operating.
  • The map point is the Totowa area, not the parcel; the Census geocoder did not match the address.
  • Under 100 acres and with no power figure, so it may fall below the 50 MW scope; kept as a smaller site found along the way.

The full record

Status note
The planning board approved a third phase in December 2024 and preliminary site plan approval for the full build-out in January 2025; whether earlier phases are running was not stated.
Power note
No power figure in the minutes; may be under 50 MW.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.