Data center campus · Former Hemlock Semiconductor site, Solar Way, Commerce Park, Clarksville, Montgomery County, Tennessee

Google Clarksville data center

Operating as of Oct. 20, 2026

A Google data center built on the land of an abandoned Hemlock Semiconductor polysilicon project, opened in 2019 under a local tax agreement that labels its key figures trade secrets. Also known as: Google Montgomery County data center, former Hemlock Semiconductor site, Foxman LLC (Google company on the local tax agreement).

Cite← Tennessee data centers
Anderson CountyBedford CountyBenton CountyBledsoe CountyBlount CountyBradley CountyCampbell CountyCannon CountyCarroll CountyCarter CountyCheatham CountyChester CountyClaiborne CountyClay CountyCocke CountyCoffee CountyCrockett CountyCumberland CountyDavidson CountyDecatur CountyDeKalb CountyDickson CountyDyer CountyFayette CountyFentress CountyFranklin CountyGibson CountyGiles CountyGrainger CountyGreene CountyGrundy CountyHamblen CountyHamilton CountyHancock CountyHardeman CountyHardin CountyHawkins CountyHaywood CountyHenderson CountyHenry CountyHickman CountyHouston CountyHumphreys CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyKnox CountyLake CountyLauderdale CountyLawrence CountyLewis CountyLincoln CountyLoudon CountyMacon CountyMadison CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMaury CountyMcMinn CountyMcNairy CountyMeigs CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMoore CountyMorgan CountyObion CountyOverton CountyPerry CountyPickett CountyPolk CountyPutnam CountyRhea CountyRoane CountyRobertson CountyRutherford CountyScott CountySequatchie CountySevier CountyShelby CountySmith CountyStewart CountySullivan CountySumner CountyTipton CountyTrousdale CountyUnicoi CountyUnion CountyVan Buren CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWeakley CountyWhite CountyWilliamson CountyWilson CountyGoogle Clarksville data center · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site1,300acres

Who is behind it

ProjectGoogle Clarksville data centerAlso: Google Montgomery County data center, former Hemlock Semiconductor site, Foxman LLC (Google company on the local tax agreement)
Developer and teamGoogle (through Foxman LLC)
End userGoogle

The record, newest first

  1. The planning commission's current-cases page lists the county data center resolution, case CZO-1-2026, for its Oct. 27 meeting. The result and the second county vote could not be confirmed. (Clarksville-Montgomery County Regional Planning Commission, undated)

  2. The County Commission approved the rules 17-4 after raising the residential setback to 500 feet, which sends them back to the planning commission and then to a second county vote. A moratorium was discussed but not approved. (Clarksville Now, Oct. 19, 2026; Clarksville Now, Oct. 20, 2026)

  3. Regional planning director Jeff Tyndall told the County Commission that no more data centers are in the works and that local utilities can supply Google's existing site; he said he would need to ask them about serving more. (Clarksville Now, Oct. 6, 2026)

  4. The regional planning commission sent Montgomery County its first data center zoning rules, with one member opposed. New sites would have to be between 10 and 100 acres and expansions of existing sites would also be covered; Google's current operations would not be affected. (NewsChannel 5 (WTVF), Sept. 22, 2026; FOX 17 (WZTV), Sept. 24, 2026)

  5. Gov. Bill Lee attended the ribbon cutting; Google said its power use is matched with renewable energy under a TVA deal that also covers its Alabama site. (Clarksville Now, Nov. 6, 2019; Data Center Dynamics, undated)

  6. The Tennessee Coalition for Open Government published a call to undo the tax agreement's secrecy terms, which label hiring, investment and assessed values as trade secrets and commit the board to help Google oppose disclosure. (Tennessee Coalition for Open Government, Sept. 30, 2018)

  7. Google held its groundbreaking, with CEO Sundar Pichai among the speakers. It had bought the site in 2015 and expected the data center to go online in 2019. (Clarksville Now, Feb. 16, 2018; Data Center Dynamics, Feb. 16, 2018)

  8. Gov. Bill Haslam and Google announced a $600 million data center with 70 jobs on the roughly 1,300-acre former Hemlock site, with renewable power arranged through TVA. The same day the county's Industrial Development Board signed the tax agreement. Hemlock had dropped its polysilicon plant there in 2014. (Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Dec. 22, 2015; Tennessee Coalition for Open Government, Sept. 30, 2018; Data Center Dynamics, undated)

  9. Clarksville City Council and the Montgomery County Commission each approved a development agreement among the county, its Industrial Development Board, the city and an unnamed company for a facility on Solar Way; WKMS reported both votes as unanimous. (WKMS, Dec. 22, 2015; Clarksville Now, Dec. 22, 2015)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Site size conflict: about 1,300 acres (state, 2015) vs. about 400 acres (NewsChannel 5, Sept. 2026, describing the Google data center). The acres field carries the state figure.
  • Street number conflict: 1000 Solar Way (WKMS, development agreement) vs. 100 Solar Way (Clarksville Now).
  • NewsChannel 5 (June 2026) described a Clarksville facility of nearly 1.44 million square feet without naming the operator; the sqft field is left empty because no record ties that figure to Google.
  • Investment conflict at announcement: $500 million in early reports (WKMS, citing the Tennessean; DCD 2018) vs. $600 million in the state's announcement.
  • Google's 413 MW solar purchase with TVA is an energy contract shared with Alabama, not this site's load. No load figure was found.
  • Coordinates are approximate, the map center a data center directory shows for the site (northeast Clarksville); a street address could not be geocoded here. Directories also give 1000 Boolean Drive as the address.

The full record

Status note
Open since a Nov. 6, 2019 ribbon cutting; Clarksville Now cited it as the county's existing data center in Oct. 2026.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.