Data center campus · Behind Walker Valley High School, Hiwassee River Industrial Park near I-75 Exit 33, Charleston area, Bradley County, Tennessee

Project MidSpan

Proposed as of Oct. 16, 2026

A data center proposed on about 306 acres behind Walker Valley High School, whose developer sued Bradley County in September 2026 to throw out rules that keep such projects 3,000 feet from schools and homes. Also known as: Maddux Road tract.

Cite← Tennessee data centers
Anderson CountyBedford CountyBenton CountyBledsoe CountyBlount CountyBradley CountyCampbell CountyCannon CountyCarroll CountyCarter CountyCheatham CountyChester CountyClaiborne CountyClay CountyCocke CountyCoffee CountyCrockett CountyCumberland CountyDavidson CountyDecatur CountyDeKalb CountyDickson CountyDyer CountyFayette CountyFentress CountyFranklin CountyGibson CountyGiles CountyGrainger CountyGreene CountyGrundy CountyHamblen CountyHamilton CountyHancock CountyHardeman CountyHardin CountyHawkins CountyHaywood CountyHenderson CountyHenry CountyHickman CountyHouston CountyHumphreys CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyKnox CountyLake CountyLauderdale CountyLawrence CountyLewis CountyLincoln CountyLoudon CountyMacon CountyMadison CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMaury CountyMcMinn CountyMcNairy CountyMeigs CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMoore CountyMorgan CountyObion CountyOverton CountyPerry CountyPickett CountyPolk CountyPutnam CountyRhea CountyRoane CountyRobertson CountyRutherford CountyScott CountySequatchie CountySevier CountyShelby CountySmith CountyStewart CountySullivan CountySumner CountyTipton CountyTrousdale CountyUnicoi CountyUnion CountyVan Buren CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWeakley CountyWhite CountyWilliamson CountyWilson CountyProject MidSpan · Proposed
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site306acres

Who is behind it

ProjectProject MidSpanAlso: Maddux Road tract
Developer and teamSDCL Tennessee Propco LLC
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. Protesters opposed to Project MidSpan and Project River rallied in Cleveland; WTVC described both as proposed. (WTVC NewsChannel 9, Oct. 16, 2026)

  2. Davis told commissioners the county's insurer will not cover legal fees; the mayor's office said the general fund would pay outside counsel. (WTVC NewsChannel 9, Oct. 6, 2026)

  3. County Mayor Gary Davis disclosed the project and suit to commissioners and said the nearest building would be about 1,700 feet from the school. (WTVC NewsChannel 9, Sept. 21, 2026)

  4. SDCL Tennessee Propco sued in Chancery Court, alleging the rules are arbitrary and discriminatory, differ from the version planners reviewed, lacked proper notice and violated the Open Meetings Act. We found no ruling on these claims. (WTVC NewsChannel 9, Sept. 21, 2026)

  5. Bradley County commissioners voted 14-0 to limit data centers and crypto mines to the I-2 zone, then held only by the landfill, and to require 3,000 feet from homes, schools and churches. (WDEF News 12, undated; WTVC NewsChannel 9, Sept. 21, 2026)

  6. SDCL bought the property for $19,904,950, according to the complaint as reported. An earlier letter described by WDEF, whose claims WDEF treated as unverified, put the price at $22 million; WDEF gave the tract as 251 acres, the size also shown on a Cushman & Wakefield flyer it could not tie to the owner. (WTVC NewsChannel 9, Sept. 21, 2026; WDEF News 12, undated; Cushman & Wakefield, undated)

  7. SDCL took an option on the land, according to its complaint as reported by WTVC. (WTVC NewsChannel 9, Sept. 21, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Acreage conflict: 306 acres (WTVC, from the complaint) against 251 acres (WDEF and the marketing flyer). The flyer may cover part of the holding; we could not confirm this.
  • Owner name: WTVC says SDCL Tennessee Propco LLC; WDEF read state records as SDCL Tennessee Prop LLC. WDEF could not confirm a tie to a London firm named SDCL, so none is stated here.
  • The complaint PDF embedded by WTVC is labeled 26-211 but we did not open it, so no case number is given. The county's published site plan was also not opened.
  • Coordinates are approximate, from the reported school and town.

The full record

Status note
WTVC still called it a proposed development on Oct. 16. Its nearest building, about 1,700 feet from the school, falls inside the county's April 2026 3,000-foot rule; the developer is suing to void the rules and the county says it will defend them.
Power note
No project load was found. The company, per WTVC's account of its complaint, says the site has access to at least 300 MW. A 2025 Cushman & Wakefield flyer for a 251-acre tract called Project Tennessee in Charleston advertised up to 450 MW pending a TVA study; WDEF could not confirm that listing's link to the owner.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.