Data center campus · 8432 Flippo Drive, south of Fredericksburg and east of I-95, Spotsylvania, Virginia

Amazon Carter's Store Tech Campus

Approved as of Oct. 30, 2025

A 314-acre Amazon campus planned for about 2.6 million sq ft of data centers in phases through 2035, rezoned from rural to industrial in 2023.

Cite← Virginia data centers
AccomackAlbemarleAlexandriaAlleghanyAmeliaAmherstAppomattoxArlingtonAugustaBathBedfordBlandBotetourtBristolBrunswickBuchananBuckinghamBuena VistaCampbellCarolineCarrollCharles CityCharlotteCharlottesvilleChesapeakeChesterfieldClarkeColonial HeightsCovingtonCraigCulpeperCumberlandDanvilleDickensonDinwiddieEmporiaEssexFairfaxFairfax (city)Falls ChurchFauquierFloydFluvannaFranklinFranklin (city)FrederickFredericksburgGalaxGilesGloucesterGoochlandGraysonGreeneGreensvilleHalifaxHamptonHanoverHarrisonburgHenricoHenryHighlandHopewellIsle of WightJames CityKing and QueenKing GeorgeKing WilliamLancasterLeeLexingtonLoudounLouisaLunenburgLynchburgMadisonManassasManassas ParkMartinsvilleMathewsMecklenburgMiddlesexMontgomeryNelsonNew KentNewport NewsNorfolkNorthamptonNorthumberlandNortonNottowayOrangePagePatrickPetersburgPittsylvaniaPoquosonPortsmouthPowhatanPrince EdwardPrince GeorgePrince WilliamPulaskiRadfordRappahannockRichmondRichmond (city)RoanokeRoanoke (city)RockbridgeRockinghamRussellSalemScottShenandoahSmythSouthamptonSpotsylvaniaStaffordStauntonSuffolkSurrySussexTazewellVirginia BeachWarrenWashingtonWaynesboroWestmorelandWilliamsburgWinchesterWiseWytheYorkAmazon Carter's Store Tech Campus · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area2,600,000sq ft
Site314acres

Who is behind it

ProjectAmazon Carter's Store Tech Campus
Developer and teamAmazon Data Services
End userAmazon Web Services

The record, newest first

  1. A traffic analysis in a neighboring filing listed the campus as approved and not yet constructed. (Spotsylvania County (applicant narrative, File No. R25-0003), Oct. 30, 2025)

  2. DCD reported the rezoning had been approved. (DatacenterDynamics, Oct. 30, 2023)

  3. Amazon filed to rezone about 314 acres from rural to light industrial for about 2.6 million sq ft of data centers and a substation, phased through 2035. (DatacenterDynamics, undated; Data Center Frontier, June 2, 2023)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Acreage is 313 (Data Center Frontier) or 314 (DCD).
  • Borders the Summit Crossing campus, per Data Center Frontier.

The full record

Status note
Described in an October 2025 county filing as approved but not yet built.
Power note
No power figure appears in the sources opened.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.