Data center campus · 8552 Ashton Ave., near Manassas Mall, between Ellis Elementary School and Unity Reed High School, Prince William, Virginia

Amazon Ashton Avenue data center proposal

Proposed as of Jan. 8, 2025

Amazon wants to rezone about 52 wooded acres near Manassas Mall, between two schools, for three 95-foot data centers and a substation; the planning commission recommended denial, and the board vote has been put off indefinitely. Also known as: Ashton data center.

Cite← Virginia data centers
AccomackAlbemarleAlexandriaAlleghanyAmeliaAmherstAppomattoxArlingtonAugustaBathBedfordBlandBotetourtBristolBrunswickBuchananBuckinghamBuena VistaCampbellCarolineCarrollCharles CityCharlotteCharlottesvilleChesapeakeChesterfieldClarkeColonial HeightsCovingtonCraigCulpeperCumberlandDanvilleDickensonDinwiddieEmporiaEssexFairfaxFairfax (city)Falls ChurchFauquierFloydFluvannaFranklinFranklin (city)FrederickFredericksburgGalaxGilesGloucesterGoochlandGraysonGreeneGreensvilleHalifaxHamptonHanoverHarrisonburgHenricoHenryHighlandHopewellIsle of WightJames CityKing and QueenKing GeorgeKing WilliamLancasterLeeLexingtonLoudounLouisaLunenburgLynchburgMadisonManassasManassas ParkMartinsvilleMathewsMecklenburgMiddlesexMontgomeryNelsonNew KentNewport NewsNorfolkNorthamptonNorthumberlandNortonNottowayOrangePagePatrickPetersburgPittsylvaniaPoquosonPortsmouthPowhatanPrince EdwardPrince GeorgePrince WilliamPulaskiRadfordRappahannockRichmondRichmond (city)RoanokeRoanoke (city)RockbridgeRockinghamRussellSalemScottShenandoahSmythSouthamptonSpotsylvaniaStaffordStauntonSuffolkSurrySussexTazewellVirginia BeachWarrenWashingtonWaynesboroWestmorelandWilliamsburgWinchesterWiseWytheYorkAmazon Ashton Avenue data center proposal · Proposed
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area600,000sq ft
Site52acres

Who is behind it

ProjectAmazon Ashton Avenue data center proposalAlso: Ashton data center
End userAmazon Web Services

The record, newest first

  1. County staff postponed the planned Jan. 21 board hearing to an open date, saying the application had changed since the commission vote. (InsideNoVa, Jan. 2025)

  2. Amazon asked to pull the case from the supervisors' Oct. 22 agenda, saying it needed more time after an Oct. 1 community open house, and said it still intended to build on the site. (InsideNoVa, Oct. 2024; DatacenterDynamics, Oct. 2024)

  3. The planning commission voted 6-1 to recommend denial of the 52-acre plan, citing noise, wildlife and nearness to homes and schools. (Prince William Times, June 2024; InsideNoVa, Oct. 2024)

  4. An earlier Amazon plan for four data centers and a substation on 80 acres between Ashton Avenue and Sudley Road was tabled indefinitely at the company's request, before a Nov. 30 planning commission hearing, after county staff recommended denial. (DatacenterDynamics, Dec. 2022)

Conflicts and open questions

  • The site is under 100 acres and no power figure was reported, so it is below the tracker's size thresholds; it is kept because it is contested.
  • Amazon asked for a continuous noise limit of 65 dBA, 5 dBA above the county limit, plus a waiver for emergency generators.
  • The InsideNoVa and DCD pages opened show no byline or date; dates are inferred from the meetings they describe and the article IDs.

The full record

Status note
The supervisors' hearing was put off a second time in January 2025, with no new date; no later decision was found.
Power note
No power figure was published. The plan includes a 6-acre substation.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.