Data center campus · 14209 and 14237 Dumfries Road (Va. 234) at Independent Hill Drive, Independent Hill, Prince William, Virginia

Amazon data center campus, former Parsons Business Park

Approved as of March 19, 2024

Supervisors let the owner of the former Parsons Farm site on Route 234 build data centers up to 85 feet tall, and Amazon bought the roughly 91 acres for about $218 million weeks later. Also known as: Parsons Business Park.

Cite← Virginia data centers
AccomackAlbemarleAlexandriaAlleghanyAmeliaAmherstAppomattoxArlingtonAugustaBathBedfordBlandBotetourtBristolBrunswickBuchananBuckinghamBuena VistaCampbellCarolineCarrollCharles CityCharlotteCharlottesvilleChesapeakeChesterfieldClarkeColonial HeightsCovingtonCraigCulpeperCumberlandDanvilleDickensonDinwiddieEmporiaEssexFairfaxFairfax (city)Falls ChurchFauquierFloydFluvannaFranklinFranklin (city)FrederickFredericksburgGalaxGilesGloucesterGoochlandGraysonGreeneGreensvilleHalifaxHamptonHanoverHarrisonburgHenricoHenryHighlandHopewellIsle of WightJames CityKing and QueenKing GeorgeKing WilliamLancasterLeeLexingtonLoudounLouisaLunenburgLynchburgMadisonManassasManassas ParkMartinsvilleMathewsMecklenburgMiddlesexMontgomeryNelsonNew KentNewport NewsNorfolkNorthamptonNorthumberlandNortonNottowayOrangePagePatrickPetersburgPittsylvaniaPoquosonPortsmouthPowhatanPrince EdwardPrince GeorgePrince WilliamPulaskiRadfordRappahannockRichmondRichmond (city)RoanokeRoanoke (city)RockbridgeRockinghamRussellSalemScottShenandoahSmythSouthamptonSpotsylvaniaStaffordStauntonSuffolkSurrySussexTazewellVirginia BeachWarrenWashingtonWaynesboroWestmorelandWilliamsburgWinchesterWiseWytheYorkAmazon data center campus, former Parsons Business Park · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site91acres

Who is behind it

ProjectAmazon data center campus, former Parsons Business ParkAlso: Parsons Business Park
Developer and teamAmazon Data Services
End userAmazon Web Services

The record, newest first

  1. The property sold to Amazon for about $218 million. (Prince William Times, May 24, 2024; DatacenterDynamics, May 2024)

  2. Supervisors voted 5-1, with two members absent, to change the site's 2019 rezoning terms so buildings could rise to 85 feet. (Prince William Times, May 24, 2024; Potomac Local News, March 22, 2024)

  3. The planning commission voted 5-2 to recommend denial of raising the height limit from 45 to 85 feet. (Prince William Times, May 24, 2024)

Conflicts and open questions

  • The site is under 100 acres and no power figure was reported, so it is below the tracker's size thresholds.
  • Acreage is reported as 90 (Prince William Times) and 91 (DCD). The price is reported as $218 million and, in a later Prince William Times story, $220 million.
  • DCD says the site is in the county's Data Center Opportunity Zone Overlay District and was rezoned for a business park in 2019.

The full record

Status note
Supervisors approved taller buildings in March 2024 and Amazon bought the land that April; no construction record was found.
Power note
No power figure was published.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.