Data center campus · Off Old Potomac Church Road near Stafford Hospital, Falmouth District, Stafford, Virginia

Amazon Potomac Church Tech Center

Under construction as of Aug. 18, 2026

A two-building, 510,000 sq ft Amazon data center campus on about 50 acres in Stafford, approved in 2023, whose first building was cleared for occupancy in May 2026. Also known as: AWS Old Potomac Church Road campus.

Cite← Virginia data centers
AccomackAlbemarleAlexandriaAlleghanyAmeliaAmherstAppomattoxArlingtonAugustaBathBedfordBlandBotetourtBristolBrunswickBuchananBuckinghamBuena VistaCampbellCarolineCarrollCharles CityCharlotteCharlottesvilleChesapeakeChesterfieldClarkeColonial HeightsCovingtonCraigCulpeperCumberlandDanvilleDickensonDinwiddieEmporiaEssexFairfaxFairfax (city)Falls ChurchFauquierFloydFluvannaFranklinFranklin (city)FrederickFredericksburgGalaxGilesGloucesterGoochlandGraysonGreeneGreensvilleHalifaxHamptonHanoverHarrisonburgHenricoHenryHighlandHopewellIsle of WightJames CityKing and QueenKing GeorgeKing WilliamLancasterLeeLexingtonLoudounLouisaLunenburgLynchburgMadisonManassasManassas ParkMartinsvilleMathewsMecklenburgMiddlesexMontgomeryNelsonNew KentNewport NewsNorfolkNorthamptonNorthumberlandNortonNottowayOrangePagePatrickPetersburgPittsylvaniaPoquosonPortsmouthPowhatanPrince EdwardPrince GeorgePrince WilliamPulaskiRadfordRappahannockRichmondRichmond (city)RoanokeRoanoke (city)RockbridgeRockinghamRussellSalemScottShenandoahSmythSouthamptonSpotsylvaniaStaffordStauntonSuffolkSurrySussexTazewellVirginia BeachWarrenWashingtonWaynesboroWestmorelandWilliamsburgWinchesterWiseWytheYorkAmazon Potomac Church Tech Center · Under construction
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area510,000sq ft
Site50acres

Who is behind it

ProjectAmazon Potomac Church Tech CenterAlso: AWS Old Potomac Church Road campus
Developer and teamAmazon Data Services
End userAmazon Web Services

The record, newest first

  1. Supervisors voted 4-2 for a proffer amendment in which Amazon offered $10 million in place of about $3 million in road work and dropped a request for 113,000 more gallons of water a day; the site keeps the Tier 2 emergency generators approved in March 2025. (Potomac Local News, Aug. 25, 2026)

  2. The first building received its certificate of occupancy. (Potomac Local News, Aug. 25, 2026)

  3. County utilities prepared to brief supervisors on an Amazon-funded upgrade of the Aquia plant to supply reclaimed cooling water. (Potomac Local News, May 14, 2024)

  4. Supervisors voted 6-1 to amend the site's proffers for two two-story data center buildings on a 50-acre B-2 parcel, with a 55-decibel noise cap. (FXBG Advance, Nov. 20, 2023)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Status set to construction because only the first of two buildings has a certificate of occupancy.
  • Not covered by the aws-northern-virginia entry, which describes Loudoun, Fairfax and Prince William buildings.
  • The roughly $1 billion investment and the Potomac Church Tech Center name come from DCD, undated; DCD also reported Amazon would pay $7 million for a pumping station and water pipeline.

The full record

Status note
The first building received a certificate of occupancy on May 1, 2026; the second is targeted for July 2028.
Power note
No power figure appears in the sources opened.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.