Data center campus · Daleville, Botetourt, Virginia

Google Botetourt County campus

Under construction as of Sept. 2026

Google bought 312 acres in the county-owned Botetourt Center at Greenfield in 2025 for a planned three-building data center campus, and grading started in September 2026. Also known as: Botetourt Center at Greenfield data center.

Cite← Virginia data centers
AccomackAlbemarleAlexandriaAlleghanyAmeliaAmherstAppomattoxArlingtonAugustaBathBedfordBlandBotetourtBristolBrunswickBuchananBuckinghamBuena VistaCampbellCarolineCarrollCharles CityCharlotteCharlottesvilleChesapeakeChesterfieldClarkeColonial HeightsCovingtonCraigCulpeperCumberlandDanvilleDickensonDinwiddieEmporiaEssexFairfaxFairfax (city)Falls ChurchFauquierFloydFluvannaFranklinFranklin (city)FrederickFredericksburgGalaxGilesGloucesterGoochlandGraysonGreeneGreensvilleHalifaxHamptonHanoverHarrisonburgHenricoHenryHighlandHopewellIsle of WightJames CityKing and QueenKing GeorgeKing WilliamLancasterLeeLexingtonLoudounLouisaLunenburgLynchburgMadisonManassasManassas ParkMartinsvilleMathewsMecklenburgMiddlesexMontgomeryNelsonNew KentNewport NewsNorfolkNorthamptonNorthumberlandNortonNottowayOrangePagePatrickPetersburgPittsylvaniaPoquosonPortsmouthPowhatanPrince EdwardPrince GeorgePrince WilliamPulaskiRadfordRappahannockRichmondRichmond (city)RoanokeRoanoke (city)RockbridgeRockinghamRussellSalemScottShenandoahSmythSouthamptonSpotsylvaniaStaffordStauntonSuffolkSurrySussexTazewellVirginia BeachWarrenWashingtonWaynesboroWestmorelandWilliamsburgWinchesterWiseWytheYorkGoogle Botetourt County campus · Under construction
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site312acres

Who is behind it

ProjectGoogle Botetourt County campusAlso: Botetourt Center at Greenfield data center
Developer and teamGoogle
End userGoogle

The record, newest first

  1. County reported grading under way; first building expected to be finished in 2028. (Botetourt County, Sept. 2026)

  2. County issued grading plans and a land disturbance permit; work must avoid wetlands until state permits are done. (Botetourt County, Sept. 2026)

  3. County administrator said three buildings are planned; water use of up to 2 million gallons a day from Carvins Cove was reported, with a possible rise to 8 million. (WDBJ7, March 26, 2026)

  4. Supervisors backed a performance agreement the economic development authority approved June 20; Google's purchase of 312 acres at $45,000 an acre was announced. (Botetourt County, Sept. 2026)

  5. Supervisors amended the zoning ordinance so data centers are allowed in the park's RAM district. (Botetourt County, Sept. 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Coordinates approximate, placed at the Botetourt Center at Greenfield near Daleville.
  • County page FAQ says grading would start in fall 2026 while its update section says it began in September 2026; status uses the update.

The full record

Status note
County site updates say grading began in the second week of September 2026; the first building is expected to be ready in 2028.
Power note
No capacity figure in the county page or reporting opened.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.