Data center campus · Wood Haven Technology Park, near the I-81/I-581 junction, Roanoke, Virginia
Google data center site, Wood Haven Technology Park
Inquiry only
as of Oct. 16, 2026
Google, through subsidiary Clearview Dynamics, has 94 acres of the regionally owned Wood Haven Technology Park under contract while it studies the site for a data center. Also known as: Clearview Dynamics.
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site94acres
Who is behind it
ProjectGoogle data center site, Wood Haven Technology ParkAlso: Clearview Dynamics
Developer and teamGoogle (through Clearview Dynamics)
End userGoogle
The record, newest first
Google confirmed Clearview Dynamics is its subsidiary; due diligence including utility and environmental studies is expected to run through March 2027. (Cardinal News, Oct. 16, 2026; WDBJ7, Oct. 16, 2026)
The authority said it had been released from its nondisclosure agreement with the buyer. (Virginia Business, Oct. 16, 2026)
The Western Virginia Regional Industrial Facility Authority voted to enter a purchase agreement with Clearview Dynamics for 94 acres at Wood Haven. (Cardinal News, Oct. 16, 2026; Virginia Business, Oct. 16, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
- Under the 100-acre threshold with no power reported (94 acres of a 111-acre park); kept because it is an active, publicly confirmed hyperscaler site.
- Coordinates approximate from the reported I-81/I-581 junction location.
- The authority says data centers are an approved use of the park, whose master plan Roanoke County approved through zoning actions in 2018 and 2020 (Virginia Business).
- Park is jointly owned by Roanoke city, Roanoke County and Salem; county set to Roanoke (the county) per reporting.
- A local group has opposed the project and filed public-records requests (Cardinal News).
The full record
- Status note
- A Google subsidiary signed a purchase agreement for 94 acres and is in due diligence through March 2027; no site plan or commitment to build had been announced.
- Evidence
- News reports; primary records not yet obtained
- Size class
- Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)