Data center campus · 39 Commerce Drive, near Clarksville (Boydton mailing address), Mecklenburg, Virginia

Microsoft AVC17 campus, Clarksville

Approved as of April 22, 2025

A Microsoft data center campus at 39 Commerce Drive near Clarksville whose DEQ air permit covers backup generators for buildings AVC17 through AVC21. Also known as: AVC17.

Cite← Virginia data centers
AccomackAlbemarleAlexandriaAlleghanyAmeliaAmherstAppomattoxArlingtonAugustaBathBedfordBlandBotetourtBristolBrunswickBuchananBuckinghamBuena VistaCampbellCarolineCarrollCharles CityCharlotteCharlottesvilleChesapeakeChesterfieldClarkeColonial HeightsCovingtonCraigCulpeperCumberlandDanvilleDickensonDinwiddieEmporiaEssexFairfaxFairfax (city)Falls ChurchFauquierFloydFluvannaFranklinFranklin (city)FrederickFredericksburgGalaxGilesGloucesterGoochlandGraysonGreeneGreensvilleHalifaxHamptonHanoverHarrisonburgHenricoHenryHighlandHopewellIsle of WightJames CityKing and QueenKing GeorgeKing WilliamLancasterLeeLexingtonLoudounLouisaLunenburgLynchburgMadisonManassasManassas ParkMartinsvilleMathewsMecklenburgMiddlesexMontgomeryNelsonNew KentNewport NewsNorfolkNorthamptonNorthumberlandNortonNottowayOrangePagePatrickPetersburgPittsylvaniaPoquosonPortsmouthPowhatanPrince EdwardPrince GeorgePrince WilliamPulaskiRadfordRappahannockRichmondRichmond (city)RoanokeRoanoke (city)RockbridgeRockinghamRussellSalemScottShenandoahSmythSouthamptonSpotsylvaniaStaffordStauntonSuffolkSurrySussexTazewellVirginia BeachWarrenWashingtonWaynesboroWestmorelandWilliamsburgWinchesterWiseWytheYorkMicrosoft AVC17 campus, Clarksville · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found

Who is behind it

ProjectMicrosoft AVC17 campus, ClarksvilleAlso: AVC17
Developer and teamMicrosoft
End userMicrosoft

The record, newest first

  1. DEQ approved a permit for 130 3,000 kW and five 500 kW backup diesel generators serving AVC17 through AVC21. (Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, April 22, 2025)

  2. Microsoft's application to amend the permit was dated Sept. 30, 2024. (Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, April 22, 2025)

  3. DEQ issued the site's first air permit, later superseded. (Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, April 22, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • The permit gives a Boydton mailing ZIP but describes the site as Clarksville.
  • The 2024 local count in microsoft-mecklenburg listed its single Clarksville site as a Peraton facility, so this campus may not be covered by that entry.

The full record

Status note
DEQ approved a permit to construct and operate that lapses unless continuous construction began by Oct. 22, 2026 or DEQ granted an extension; no record of either was found.
Power note
Capacity not disclosed. The DEQ permit covers 135 backup generators rated about 392.5 MW combined (sum of listed ratings); that is backup generation, not the IT or utility load.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.