Data center campus · Celebrate Virginia South, off Interstate 95 near Gordon W. Shelton Boulevard and Hilton Drive, Fredericksburg, Virginia

STACK Infrastructure Fredericksburg campus (Celebrate Virginia South)

Approved as of March 2025

Silver Companies and STACK announced a potential $10 billion plan for up to 12 data centers on a roughly 250-acre Technology Overlay District at Celebrate Virginia South, which the city created to allow data centers by right. Also known as: Celebrate Virginia South Technology Overlay District, NEON at Celebrate Virginia South.

Cite← Virginia data centers
AccomackAlbemarleAlexandriaAlleghanyAmeliaAmherstAppomattoxArlingtonAugustaBathBedfordBlandBotetourtBristolBrunswickBuchananBuckinghamBuena VistaCampbellCarolineCarrollCharles CityCharlotteCharlottesvilleChesapeakeChesterfieldClarkeColonial HeightsCovingtonCraigCulpeperCumberlandDanvilleDickensonDinwiddieEmporiaEssexFairfaxFairfax (city)Falls ChurchFauquierFloydFluvannaFranklinFranklin (city)FrederickFredericksburgGalaxGilesGloucesterGoochlandGraysonGreeneGreensvilleHalifaxHamptonHanoverHarrisonburgHenricoHenryHighlandHopewellIsle of WightJames CityKing and QueenKing GeorgeKing WilliamLancasterLeeLexingtonLoudounLouisaLunenburgLynchburgMadisonManassasManassas ParkMartinsvilleMathewsMecklenburgMiddlesexMontgomeryNelsonNew KentNewport NewsNorfolkNorthamptonNorthumberlandNortonNottowayOrangePagePatrickPetersburgPittsylvaniaPoquosonPortsmouthPowhatanPrince EdwardPrince GeorgePrince WilliamPulaskiRadfordRappahannockRichmondRichmond (city)RoanokeRoanoke (city)RockbridgeRockinghamRussellSalemScottShenandoahSmythSouthamptonSpotsylvaniaStaffordStauntonSuffolkSurrySussexTazewellVirginia BeachWarrenWashingtonWaynesboroWestmorelandWilliamsburgWinchesterWiseWytheYorkSTACK Infrastructure Fredericksburg campus (Celebrate Virginia South) · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site250acres

Who is behind it

ProjectSTACK Infrastructure Fredericksburg campus (Celebrate Virginia South)Also: Celebrate Virginia South Technology Overlay District, NEON at Celebrate Virginia South
Developer and teamSTACK Infrastructure
Silver Companies
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. At a budget work session, city officials said Council had approved the project in early March, called near-term tax revenue a long shot, and said water agreement talks with STACK would continue through the end of 2025. (Potomac Local, April 3, 2025)

  2. The city announced a potential $10 billion agreement under which STACK would develop up to 12 data centers on the roughly 250-acre district, subject to final approvals, a water services agreement and new Dominion transmission. (City of Fredericksburg, Feb. 26, 2025)

  3. After a public hearing, Council voted 7-0 on first read to approve the overlay district. (Potomac Local, Feb. 26, 2025; City of Fredericksburg, Feb. 26, 2025)

  4. City Council voted unanimously to start the process of amending the comprehensive plan and zoning to create a Technology Overlay District in Celebrate Virginia South. Members discussed a 150-acre minimum for a campus. (City of Fredericksburg, Oct. 31, 2026; The Free Lance-Star (via GovTech), Jan. 16, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • The second-read vote scheduled for March 11, 2025 is supported only by Potomac Local's statement that Council approved the project in early March. The city's minutes were not opened.
  • No information from 2026 was found on site plans, the water agreement or construction.
  • Coordinates are approximate, placed in Celebrate Virginia South between Gordon W. Shelton Blvd and Hilton Drive.

The full record

Status note
City Council approved the Technology Overlay District, which allows data centers by right, on first read in February 2025, and Potomac Local reported that Council approved the project in early March 2025. Full buildout still depends on final entitlements, a water services agreement with the city, and new Dominion transmission.
Power note
No capacity published.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.