Data center campus · Laveen, Phoenix, near Loop 202 and Dobbins Rd, Maricopa County, Arizona

Amazon Laveen site (Loop 202 and Dobbins Rd)

Site zoned or marketed as of Oct. 8, 2026

Amazon's data center arm paid $277 million for about 220 acres in Laveen that it described as a possible data center site, but says it currently has no plans to develop it.

Cite← Arizona data centers
Apache CountyCochise CountyCoconino CountyGila CountyGraham CountyGreenlee CountyLa Paz CountyMaricopa CountyMohave CountyNavajo CountyPima CountyPinal CountySanta Cruz CountyYavapai CountyYuma CountyAmazon Laveen site (Loop 202 and Dobbins Rd) · Site zoned or marketed
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site220acres

Who is behind it

ProjectAmazon Laveen site (Loop 202 and Dobbins Rd)
Developer and teamAmazon Web Services (through Amazon Data Services)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. Propmodo reported Amazon said it has no current plans for a data center on the roughly 218-acre site and has not filed a Proposition 207 claim over Phoenix's data center zoning rules. (Propmodo, Oct. 8, 2026)

  2. The Phoenix Business Journal reported that Amazon Data Services paid $277 million in cash for 220 acres near Loop 202 and Dobbins Rd; AWS confirmed the purchase. (ABC15 (Phoenix Business Journal), Oct. 18, 2024; KTAR News (Phoenix Business Journal), Oct. 21, 2024)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Acreage reported as 220 (2024) and 218 (2026).
  • Phoenix adopted a data center zoning ordinance in 2025; neighboring owners have filed Prop 207 claims, per Propmodo. No city zoning case for this parcel was found.

The full record

Status note
Land bought in 2024; Amazon said in Oct 2026 it has no current plans to build a data center there.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.