Data center campus · Harquahala Valley near Tonopah (NWC 499th Ave & Camelback Rd per county minutes; NEC 491st Ave & Thomas Rd per press), Maricopa County, Arizona

Harquahala Energy Generation & Industrial Campus

Approved as of Feb. 18, 2026

Copia Power's rezoned Harquahala Valley site west of Tonopah pairs solar, gas and batteries with up to nine 250,000 sq ft data center buildings. Also known as: Z250015, 491st Ave and Thomas Rd data center/solar site.

Cite← Arizona data centers
Apache CountyCochise CountyCoconino CountyGila CountyGraham CountyGreenlee CountyLa Paz CountyMaricopa CountyMohave CountyNavajo CountyPima CountyPinal CountySanta Cruz CountyYavapai CountyYuma CountyHarquahala Energy Generation & Industrial Campus · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area2,250,000sq ft
Site638acres

Who is behind it

ProjectHarquahala Energy Generation & Industrial CampusAlso: Z250015, 491st Ave and Thomas Rd data center/solar site
Developer and teamCopia Power
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. The Board of Supervisors had approved IND-2 rezoning for 638 acres, with a conceptual plan of nine buildings totaling about 2.25 million sq ft. (AZBEX, Feb. 18, 2026; DatacenterDynamics, undated)

  2. Trade press reported Copia's Harquahala campus as 917 acres, of which 638 needed a land-use change, with a county board hearing set for Dec. 10. (New Project Media, Dec. 8, 2025)

  3. The Maricopa County Planning and Zoning Commission recommended case Z250015 for approval 8-0 on consent. The conditions limit uses to solar, gas generation, battery storage and data storage facilities. (Maricopa County Planning and Zoning Commission, Nov. 6, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Location and timeline conflict: county minutes place Z250015 at the NWC of 499th Ave & Camelback Rd (P&Z 8-0 on Nov. 6, 2025, rezoning from IND-2 IUPD and Rural-43 to IND-2 IUPD). AZBEX/DCD (Feb. 2026) place a 638-acre rezoning at the NEC of 491st Ave & Thomas Rd from Rural-43, with the P&Z vote 'last month' (about Jan. 2026). New Project Media ties Copia's 917-acre campus to a 638-acre RDA-to-Utilities change, a Nov. 6 P&Z vote and a Dec. 10 board hearing. The 638-acre figure links them, but these may be two adjacent cases; verify against the county case file.
  • AZBEX/DCD name the landowners as Grandilla (Arizona) Inc. and Foot Creek Corp. and do not name Copia; only New Project Media names Copia.
  • The county board's vote date was not found in a source opened; AZBEX (Feb. 18, 2026) reports the approval as done.
  • Coordinates are approximate.

The full record

Status note
The county Planning and Zoning Commission recommended approval 8-0 on Nov. 6, 2025, and the Board of Supervisors approved the rezoning by mid-Feb. 2026.
Power note
The paired solar/battery plants (550 MW and 450 MW solar) are generation, not data center load, and are not counted here.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.