Data center campus · 283rd Avenue and Patterson Road, near SR 85, Buckeye, Maricopa County, Arizona

Fortescue Buckeye site (former Nikola hydrogen hub)

Site zoned or marketed as of March 2026

Fortescue's former green hydrogen site in Buckeye, rezoned for broader industrial use with a data center campus named as a likely future use.

Cite← Arizona data centers
Apache CountyCochise CountyCoconino CountyGila CountyGraham CountyGreenlee CountyLa Paz CountyMaricopa CountyMohave CountyNavajo CountyPima CountyPinal CountySanta Cruz CountyYavapai CountyYuma CountyFortescue Buckeye site (former Nikola hydrogen hub) · Site zoned or marketed
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site158acres

Who is behind it

ProjectFortescue Buckeye site (former Nikola hydrogen hub)
Developer and teamFortescue (through Fortescue Future Industries)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. Buckeye City Council approved Fortescue's rezoning request, clearing the way for a possible data center. (InBuckeye, March 11, 2026; KJZZ, March 4, 2026)

  2. Buckeye's planning commission recommended removing the hydrogen-only conditions on the 158-acre heavy-industrial parcel; the applicant said a data center campus was likely. (AZBEX, Feb. 10, 2026; Phoenix Business Journal (republished by Orion Investment Real Estate), Feb. 11, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Fortescue told the city it is assessing several options, including a data center; no end user or MW disclosed.
  • The 80 MW figure in PBJ reporting was the abandoned hydrogen electrolyzer, not a data center.
  • InBuckeye reports the council approval as 'earlier this month' (March 2026); exact vote date not given. AZBEX gives 157 or 158 acres; KJZZ rounds to 160.

The full record

Status note
Buckeye lifted hydrogen-only zoning stipulations in March 2026; a data center would still need a conditional use permit and no data center site plan had been filed.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.