Data center campus · Elliot and Sossaman roads, Mesa, Maricopa County, Arizona

Google Mesa data center campus

Operating as of Nov. 1, 2026

Google's first Arizona data center campus, an air-cooled site on Elliot Road in Mesa. Also known as: Redhawk.

Cite← Arizona data centers
Apache CountyCochise CountyCoconino CountyGila CountyGraham CountyGreenlee CountyLa Paz CountyMaricopa CountyMohave CountyNavajo CountyPima CountyPinal CountySanta Cruz CountyYavapai CountyYuma CountyGoogle Mesa data center campus · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site187acres

Who is behind it

ProjectGoogle Mesa data center campusAlso: Redhawk
Developer and teamGoogle (through Stone Applications LLC)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. Google's data center locations page lists Mesa, Arizona among its sites without an 'in development' label. (Google, Nov. 1, 2026)

  2. Google filed plans for a second building of about 280,000 sq ft (Redhawk Phase 2) at the same site. (Construction Reporter, May 2, 2024; DatacenterDynamics, undated)

  3. Google signed a 430 MW carbon-free power deal with SRP, saying it expected the Mesa site online in 2025. (ESG Today, March 18, 2024)

  4. Google announced a $600 million air-cooled data center at Elliot and Sossaman roads, a project Mesa had approved in 2019, with construction expected to start in early 2024. (KTAR News, Sept. 7, 2023)

  5. The Mesa City Council approved a development agreement for Google's three-phase campus, which was code-named Red Hawk. The parcel had been rezoned for data center use that April. (KTAR News, July 1, 2019)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Google filed (via Stone Applications LLC, per DCD) for a second building of about 280,000 sq ft; DCD (undated) reports a full build-out of 750,000 sq ft across three phases by 2030.
  • No MW figure from Google; third-party estimates not used.
  • The 430 MW SRP agreement is clean-energy procurement for Google's Arizona operations, not campus capacity, and no source read names the site's electric utility, so utility is left null.
  • KTAR (2023) gives $600 million for the first data center; KTAR (2019) gave $1 billion for the full project. Both may be true.
  • DCD (undated) says groundbreaking was in July 2023; KTAR's Sept. 2023 story said construction would start in early 2024. Dates conflict.

The full record

Status note
Google's locations page lists Mesa without the 'in development' label it gives unfinished sites; the page does not use the word operating and shows no date (accessed Nov. 1, 2026).
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.