Data center campus · Off Highway 53, Calhoun, across the highway from St. Clement's Catholic Church, Gordon County, Georgia

Masterworks Atlanta data center (Calhoun, Highway 53)

Paused by moratorium as of June 8, 2026

A roughly 500,000 sq ft data center floated for 11 acres of a 57-acre industrially zoned tract in Calhoun, on hold under a city moratorium that now runs through 2026.

Cite← Georgia data centers
Appling CountyAtkinson CountyBacon CountyBaker CountyBaldwin CountyBanks CountyBarrow CountyBartow CountyBen Hill CountyBerrien CountyBibb CountyBleckley CountyBrantley CountyBrooks CountyBryan CountyBulloch CountyBurke CountyButts CountyCalhoun CountyCamden CountyCandler CountyCarroll CountyCatoosa CountyCharlton CountyChatham CountyChattahoochee CountyChattooga CountyCherokee CountyClarke CountyClay CountyClayton CountyClinch CountyCobb CountyCoffee CountyColquitt CountyColumbia CountyCook CountyCoweta CountyCrawford CountyCrisp CountyDade CountyDawson CountyDecatur CountyDeKalb CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyDougherty CountyDouglas CountyEarly CountyEchols CountyEffingham CountyElbert CountyEmanuel CountyEvans CountyFannin CountyFayette CountyFloyd CountyForsyth CountyFranklin CountyFulton CountyGilmer CountyGlascock CountyGlynn CountyGordon CountyGrady CountyGreene CountyGwinnett CountyHabersham CountyHall CountyHancock CountyHaralson CountyHarris CountyHart CountyHeard CountyHenry CountyHouston CountyIrwin CountyJackson CountyJasper CountyJeff Davis CountyJefferson CountyJenkins CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLamar CountyLanier CountyLaurens CountyLee CountyLiberty CountyLincoln CountyLong CountyLowndes CountyLumpkin CountyMacon CountyMadison CountyMarion CountyMcDuffie CountyMcIntosh CountyMeriwether CountyMiller CountyMitchell CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyMurray CountyMuscogee CountyNewton CountyOconee CountyOglethorpe CountyPaulding CountyPeach CountyPickens CountyPierce CountyPike CountyPolk CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyQuitman CountyRabun CountyRandolph CountyRichmond CountyRockdale CountySchley CountyScreven CountySeminole CountySpalding CountyStephens CountyStewart CountySumter CountyTalbot CountyTaliaferro CountyTattnall CountyTaylor CountyTelfair CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift CountyToombs CountyTowns CountyTreutlen CountyTroup CountyTurner CountyTwiggs CountyUnion CountyUpson CountyWalker CountyWalton CountyWare CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWebster CountyWheeler CountyWhite CountyWhitfield CountyWilcox CountyWilkes CountyWilkinson CountyWorth CountyMasterworks Atlanta data center (Calhoun, Highway 53) · Paused by moratorium
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area500,000sq ft
Site57acres

Who is behind it

ProjectMasterworks Atlanta data center (Calhoun, Highway 53)
Developer and teamMasterworks Atlanta
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. The council extended the moratorium to Jan. 1, 2027. (Chattanooga Times Free Press, June 27, 2026)

  2. The council took a proposed technology district out of its draft zoning ordinance so the topic could be studied further. (Chattanooga Times Free Press, June 27, 2026)

  3. A city building official wrote to Masterworks that the land is zoned industrial general and that a data center would be an appropriate use. (Chattanooga Times Free Press, June 27, 2026)

  4. Late in the month the city approved a 90-day moratorium on data centers. (Chattanooga Times Free Press, June 27, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Below the 100-acre scope floor; kept because it is contested and blocked by a moratorium.
  • The Times Free Press reports the moratorium does not expressly bar the developer's regional impact study, so it is unclear whether that work has stopped.
  • The developer's job and tax projections are its own and were left out of the summary.

The full record

Status note
City moratorium on new data center permits and zoning approvals extended to Jan. 1, 2027.
Power note
Power was not stated in reporting.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.