Data center campus · 10835 Hazelbrand Road, Covington, Newton County, Georgia

Serverfarm ATL2 (Covington)

Under construction as of Oct. 8, 2026

Serverfarm's conversion of a 498,960 sq ft Covington warehouse into a data center beside a VoltaGrid gas plant, annexed into the city in 2025 and the subject of state air-permit consent orders in 2026. Also known as: Serverfarm ATL2 Data Center, Hazelbrand Road warehouse conversion.

Cite← Georgia data centers
Appling CountyAtkinson CountyBacon CountyBaker CountyBaldwin CountyBanks CountyBarrow CountyBartow CountyBen Hill CountyBerrien CountyBibb CountyBleckley CountyBrantley CountyBrooks CountyBryan CountyBulloch CountyBurke CountyButts CountyCalhoun CountyCamden CountyCandler CountyCarroll CountyCatoosa CountyCharlton CountyChatham CountyChattahoochee CountyChattooga CountyCherokee CountyClarke CountyClay CountyClayton CountyClinch CountyCobb CountyCoffee CountyColquitt CountyColumbia CountyCook CountyCoweta CountyCrawford CountyCrisp CountyDade CountyDawson CountyDecatur CountyDeKalb CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyDougherty CountyDouglas CountyEarly CountyEchols CountyEffingham CountyElbert CountyEmanuel CountyEvans CountyFannin CountyFayette CountyFloyd CountyForsyth CountyFranklin CountyFulton CountyGilmer CountyGlascock CountyGlynn CountyGordon CountyGrady CountyGreene CountyGwinnett CountyHabersham CountyHall CountyHancock CountyHaralson CountyHarris CountyHart CountyHeard CountyHenry CountyHouston CountyIrwin CountyJackson CountyJasper CountyJeff Davis CountyJefferson CountyJenkins CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLamar CountyLanier CountyLaurens CountyLee CountyLiberty CountyLincoln CountyLong CountyLowndes CountyLumpkin CountyMacon CountyMadison CountyMarion CountyMcDuffie CountyMcIntosh CountyMeriwether CountyMiller CountyMitchell CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyMurray CountyMuscogee CountyNewton CountyOconee CountyOglethorpe CountyPaulding CountyPeach CountyPickens CountyPierce CountyPike CountyPolk CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyQuitman CountyRabun CountyRandolph CountyRichmond CountyRockdale CountySchley CountyScreven CountySeminole CountySpalding CountyStephens CountyStewart CountySumter CountyTalbot CountyTaliaferro CountyTattnall CountyTaylor CountyTelfair CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift CountyToombs CountyTowns CountyTreutlen CountyTroup CountyTurner CountyTwiggs CountyUnion CountyUpson CountyWalker CountyWalton CountyWare CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWebster CountyWheeler CountyWhite CountyWhitfield CountyWilcox CountyWilkes CountyWilkinson CountyWorth CountyServerfarm ATL2 (Covington) · Under construction
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area498,960sq ft
Site97acres

Who is behind it

ProjectServerfarm ATL2 (Covington)Also: Serverfarm ATL2 Data Center, Hazelbrand Road warehouse conversion
Developer and teamServerfarm
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. The AJC reported that a revised permit, OP-29947, treats the plant and data center as one emissions source and limits simultaneous operation to 30 of the 33 engines. (The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Oct. 8, 2026)

  2. EPD published consent orders with civil penalties of $31,000 for Serverfarm and $11,500 for VoltaGrid. As reported, the orders state they are not a finding of a violation, and neither company admitted liability. (The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Oct. 8, 2026; Atlanta News First, Oct. 6, 2026)

  3. Georgia EPD issued notices alleging the two companies installed generators without air permits, after a June 29 site inspection, and, the AJC reported, told VoltaGrid to stop building its plant. Serverfarm said it had consulted the relevant authorities and had not run its generators, and it had an air permit by the AJC's July 8 report. (The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, July 8, 2026; Atlanta News First, Oct. 6, 2026)

  4. The Southern Environmental Law Center, Sustainable Newton and Altamaha Riverkeeper asked Georgia EPD to investigate, alleging that the two companies began installing engines and generators before receiving air permits. (Southern Environmental Law Center, June 25, 2026; Southern Environmental Law Center, July 1, 2026; Atlanta News First, July 2, 2026)

  5. Covington's council gave final approval, 5-1, to annexing the warehouse property from Newton County and zoning it M2 heavy industrial, following a December first reading with the same split. (The Covington News, Jan. 2025; The Covington News, Dec. 2024; DatacenterDynamics, undated)

  6. DCD, citing The Covington News, reported that Serverfarm planned to run the 97-acre site mainly on natural gas for up to three years until Georgia Power could serve it through a new substation. (DatacenterDynamics, undated)

Conflicts and open questions

  • The ATL2 name comes from the title of Serverfarm's air permit application as cited in the groups' letter to EPD.
  • The Jan. 6 year is inferred: neither Covington News story prints a year, but Jan. 6 fell on a Monday, the stories' stated meeting day, in 2025, and the 2025 air-permit applications followed. DCD places the December first reading just before the final vote.
  • One Covington News story gives the address as 20835 Hazelbrand Road; the other and the later pop-up plant story give 10835, used here.
  • The application date differs: the groups' letter cites a Serverfarm application dated Sept. 26, 2025; Atlanta News First reports Oct. 3, 2025.
  • Plant size is described as 90 MW, while the letter's 33 engines at 3.3 MW each would total about 109 MW; no source reconciles the two.
  • AJC reports Commissioner Peter Hubbard asked Georgia PSC staff to look at whether the plant fits state law on who may generate and distribute power; no finding was reported.
  • At 97 acres with no published data center load, the site is just under the 100-acre line. Kept because the project is contested and on-site power is reported at 90 MW.
  • EPD's consent orders were not opened directly; their content comes from the AJC and Atlanta News First, so the evidence level is reported.

The full record

Status note
The AJC reported in October 2026 that construction could continue under a revised, stricter air permit after the state's consent orders.
Power note
No data center capacity has been published. Serverfarm's permit application proposed 37 backup diesel generators (36 at 3.3 MW, one at 2.5 MW), and VoltaGrid's adjacent gas plant is described as 90 MW; neither figure is the data center's load.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.