Data center campus · Portage, AmeriPlex at the Port area; IDEM lists 6350 Prairie School Road, Porter County, Indiana

Amazon Portage data center

Operating as of Sept. 1, 2024

Amazon operates a data center in Portage that IDEM's records show started up in September 2024 with room in its permit for more generators.

Cite← Indiana data centers
Adams CountyAllen CountyBartholomew CountyBenton CountyBlackford CountyBoone CountyBrown CountyCarroll CountyCass CountyClark CountyClay CountyClinton CountyCrawford CountyDaviess CountyDearborn CountyDecatur CountyDeKalb CountyDelaware CountyDubois CountyElkhart CountyFayette CountyFloyd CountyFountain CountyFranklin CountyFulton CountyGibson CountyGrant CountyGreene CountyHamilton CountyHancock CountyHarrison CountyHendricks CountyHenry CountyHoward CountyHuntington CountyJackson CountyJasper CountyJay CountyJefferson CountyJennings CountyJohnson CountyKnox CountyKosciusko CountyLaGrange CountyLake CountyLaPorte CountyLawrence CountyMadison CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMartin CountyMiami CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyNewton CountyNoble CountyOhio CountyOrange CountyOwen CountyParke CountyPerry CountyPike CountyPorter CountyPosey CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyRandolph CountyRipley CountyRush CountyScott CountyShelby CountySpencer CountySt. Joseph CountyStarke CountySteuben CountySullivan CountySwitzerland CountyTippecanoe CountyTipton CountyUnion CountyVanderburgh CountyVermillion CountyVigo CountyWabash CountyWarren CountyWarrick CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWells CountyWhite CountyWhitley CountyAmazon Portage data center · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found

Who is behind it

ProjectAmazon Portage data center
Developer and teamAmazon (through Amazon Data Services Incorporated)
End userAmazon Web Services

The record, newest first

  1. An IDEM inspector finds four of the seven permitted generators installed and observes no violations; the other three may come with a later expansion phase. (Indiana Department of Environmental Management, Sept. 16, 2024)

  2. The plant begins operating, according to IDEM. (Indiana Department of Environmental Management, Sept. 16, 2024)

  3. The Portage council finalizes two property tax abatements for the $87 million project; an earlier vote had fallen short with one member opposed and three absent. (Lakeshore Public Media, Dec. 7, 2023; Inside INdiana Business, Dec. 20, 2023)

  4. IDEM issues the air permit, No. 127-47118-00169, covering seven emergency generators. (Indiana Department of Environmental Management, Sept. 16, 2024)

Conflicts and open questions

  • The Dec. 5, 2023 date comes from a Dec. 7 report of a vote at the council's Tuesday meeting. The final tally was not reported.
  • No record of a second building was found; the permit leaves room for added generators in a later phase.

The full record

Status note
IDEM's inspection letter says the plant began operating on Sept. 1, 2024.
Power note
No capacity has been published. The air permit lists generator heat input only.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.