Data center campus · Near Wheatfield, about half a mile from the R.M. Schahfer Generating Station; IDEM lists 2938-2778 County Road 1350 North, Jasper County, Indiana

Amazon Wheatfield data center campus (Project Rise)

Approved as of June 17, 2026

Amazon plans up to nine data center buildings on 304 NIPSCO-owned acres near the Schahfer power plant in Jasper County. Also known as: Project Rise.

Cite← Indiana data centers
Adams CountyAllen CountyBartholomew CountyBenton CountyBlackford CountyBoone CountyBrown CountyCarroll CountyCass CountyClark CountyClay CountyClinton CountyCrawford CountyDaviess CountyDearborn CountyDecatur CountyDeKalb CountyDelaware CountyDubois CountyElkhart CountyFayette CountyFloyd CountyFountain CountyFranklin CountyFulton CountyGibson CountyGrant CountyGreene CountyHamilton CountyHancock CountyHarrison CountyHendricks CountyHenry CountyHoward CountyHuntington CountyJackson CountyJasper CountyJay CountyJefferson CountyJennings CountyJohnson CountyKnox CountyKosciusko CountyLaGrange CountyLake CountyLaPorte CountyLawrence CountyMadison CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMartin CountyMiami CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyNewton CountyNoble CountyOhio CountyOrange CountyOwen CountyParke CountyPerry CountyPike CountyPorter CountyPosey CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyRandolph CountyRipley CountyRush CountyScott CountyShelby CountySpencer CountySt. Joseph CountyStarke CountySteuben CountySullivan CountySwitzerland CountyTippecanoe CountyTipton CountyUnion CountyVanderburgh CountyVermillion CountyVigo CountyWabash CountyWarren CountyWarrick CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWells CountyWhite CountyWhitley CountyAmazon Wheatfield data center campus (Project Rise) · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site304acres

Who is behind it

ProjectAmazon Wheatfield data center campus (Project Rise)Also: Project Rise
Developer and teamAmazon (through Amazon Data Services, Inc.)
End userAmazon Web Services

The record, newest first

  1. IDEM posts notice of preliminary findings on a new source construction and Part 70 operating permit for the Amazon Wheatfield data center, No. T 073-50413-00077, opening a 30-day comment period. (Indiana Department of Environmental Management, Oct. 24, 2026)

  2. Jasper County officials approve the Amazon campus, known as Project Rise. (Northwest Indiana Business Magazine, June 18, 2026)

  3. Trade press reports that Amazon recently showed plans at an open house at Kankakee Valley High School for up to nine buildings and about $7 billion. (Construction Review, June 3, 2026; Data Center Dynamics, undated)

  4. The three commissioners unanimously rezone about 300 acres for a data center. The rezoning reverses if NIPSCO does not sign a community agreement with the county by a July 6 deadline, Canary Media reports. (Canary Media, May 14, 2026; CitizenPortal, Feb. 2, 2026)

  5. County commissioners make no decision after NIPSCO amends its request so that three parcels for gas turbines and two for a data center can be weighed separately; they say a decision will come in the following weeks. (Jasper County Board of Commissioners, Jan. 6, 2026)

  6. The Jasper County Plan Commission sends an unfavorable recommendation on NIPSCO's request to rezone five parcels from agriculture to industrial; the agenda entry lists a possible data center alongside gas plant sites. (Jasper County Plan Commission, Dec. 3, 2025; Kankakee Valley Post News, Dec. 16, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Township differs by source: the county agenda and a meeting summary place the rezoned parcels in Kankakee Township, while Northwest Indiana Business Magazine says Wheatfield Township.
  • The Plan Commission tally differs: Kankakee Valley Post News reports both eight members against and seven in favor of the motion with one abstaining, the county minutes note one abstention without a count, and Canary Media reports eight opposed and one recused.
  • County revenue projections differ: DCD reports tax revenue reaching more than $420 million over 15 years, while Northwest Indiana Business Magazine reports annual revenue above $20 million over 10 years. Jobs are reported as 250 (NWIB) and about 300 (Canary Media).
  • The commissioners' Feb. 2 minutes were not opened, so any written commitments beyond the community agreement are unconfirmed. Whether the agreement was signed by the deadline was also not confirmed.
  • The date of the IDEM notice is taken from its file name. The June 17 vote body is described only as county officials, and no tally was reported.

The full record

Status note
County officials approved the project in June 2026. In October 2026 IDEM posted preliminary findings on a construction and operating air permit for public comment; no final permit was seen.
Power note
No campus load has been published. The peaker plant and the gas plant of more than 2 GW that NIPSCO plans at Schahfer are generation, not the campus load.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.