Data center campus · Michigan City, 402 Royal Road (former Federal-Mogul / ANCO plant), LaPorte County, Indiana

Google Michigan City data center campus (Project Maize)

Under construction as of July 21, 2026

Google confirmed in April 2026 that it is taking over the $832 million conversion of a long-vacant factory in Michigan City, where the state approved 70 diesel backup generators. Also known as: Project Maize, 402 Royal Road, Lavender Fields Holdings.

Cite← Indiana data centers
Adams CountyAllen CountyBartholomew CountyBenton CountyBlackford CountyBoone CountyBrown CountyCarroll CountyCass CountyClark CountyClay CountyClinton CountyCrawford CountyDaviess CountyDearborn CountyDecatur CountyDeKalb CountyDelaware CountyDubois CountyElkhart CountyFayette CountyFloyd CountyFountain CountyFranklin CountyFulton CountyGibson CountyGrant CountyGreene CountyHamilton CountyHancock CountyHarrison CountyHendricks CountyHenry CountyHoward CountyHuntington CountyJackson CountyJasper CountyJay CountyJefferson CountyJennings CountyJohnson CountyKnox CountyKosciusko CountyLaGrange CountyLake CountyLaPorte CountyLawrence CountyMadison CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMartin CountyMiami CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyNewton CountyNoble CountyOhio CountyOrange CountyOwen CountyParke CountyPerry CountyPike CountyPorter CountyPosey CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyRandolph CountyRipley CountyRush CountyScott CountyShelby CountySpencer CountySt. Joseph CountyStarke CountySteuben CountySullivan CountySwitzerland CountyTippecanoe CountyTipton CountyUnion CountyVanderburgh CountyVermillion CountyVigo CountyWabash CountyWarren CountyWarrick CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWells CountyWhite CountyWhitley CountyGoogle Michigan City data center campus (Project Maize) · Under construction
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area400,000sq ft
Site67acres

Who is behind it

ProjectGoogle Michigan City data center campus (Project Maize)Also: Project Maize, 402 Royal Road, Lavender Fields Holdings
Developer and teamGoogle
Phoenix Investors (through Phoenix Michigan City Industrial Investors LLC)
End userGoogle

The record, newest first

  1. The city's project page, last changed this day, lists building permits, tax abatement papers, water letters and IDEM notices for the 380,000 to 400,000 square foot conversion. (City of Michigan City, Oct. 21, 2026)

  2. The council tables a resolution on spending the project's expected payments, including $2.5 million for police and fire. (WVPE, July 22, 2026)

  3. ABC57 reports that residents and organizers at a recent community meeting raised concerns about site contamination, light, traffic and unreleased site plans while construction continued. (ABC57, April 19, 2026)

  4. Google confirms it is acquiring the Project Maize site from Phoenix Investors and says it will cover all of the site's power costs and related infrastructure. (WNDU, April 16, 2026; Northwest Indiana Business Magazine, April 17, 2026)

  5. IDEM's approval of the 70-generator air permit is announced. (ABC57, March 23, 2026)

  6. IDEM holds a public meeting on an air permit sought by Lavender Fields Holdings LLC for 70 diesel emergency generators at the site. (ABC57, Dec. 9, 2025)

  7. The Michigan City Common Council approves four resolutions tied to Project Maize, including tax abatements, after attempts to table them fail 5-4. (WVPE, Sept. 4, 2025; WNDU, Sept. 4, 2025)

  8. IBJ reports about $42 million in IEDC tax breaks over 35 years for an unnamed company's $832 million project at 402 Royal Road, a site county property records show under a Phoenix Investors company. (Inside INdiana Business / IBJ, July 10, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • MW is not disclosed.
  • Acreage is reported as 67 acres (IBJ) and about 70 acres (Northwest Indiana Business). Building size is 380,000 to 400,000 square feet on the city's project page.
  • Payment totals differ: WVPE's schedule adds to $25 million, while Northwest Indiana Business reports $26.1 million in benefits to the city, including $1 million for the local economic development group and $100,000 for the sanitary district.
  • The air permit applicant is spelled both Lavender and Lavendar in records and reporting. ABC57 wrote that it suspected the applicant stood in for a large technology company; no opened record ties it to Google.
  • The city's project page says the site is near a NIPSCO substation and plans a customer-owned substation, but no opened record names the serving utility.
  • File names on the city page show an IDEM public comment notice received Oct. 12, 2026 and an extension received Oct. 20, 2026; their contents were not read.

The full record

Status note
Reported under construction in April 2026, and a council member described nearly a year of construction effects in July 2026. No completion date is public.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.