Data center campus · Merrillville, Broadway, 93rd Avenue and Georgia Street, Lake County, Indiana
Wylie Capital data center at Merrillville Commerce Center
Paused by moratorium
as of June 1, 2026
Wylie Capital proposed up to six data center buildings totaling 1.2 million square feet at the Merrillville Commerce Center and won a preliminary advisory committee approval in 2024. Also known as: Merrillville Commerce Center.
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area1,200,000sq ft
Who is behind it
ProjectWylie Capital data center at Merrillville Commerce CenterAlso: Merrillville Commerce Center
Developer and teamWylie Capital
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.
The record, newest first
The council adopts a town-wide one-year moratorium on new data center project approvals, in effect June 1, 2026 through May 31, 2027. (Northwest Indiana Business Magazine, May 28, 2026; Town of Merrillville, undated)
Merrillville's data center advisory committee gives preliminary approval to the proposal, with two buildings to start and the rest built as demand grows. (Inside INdiana Business, Nov. 21, 2024; Data Center Dynamics, undated)
Conflicts and open questions
- Neither power nor acreage has been published, so the size test cannot be applied; kept because of its 1.2 million square feet and its place in town coverage of the Merrillville proposals.
- The paused status is an inference from the moratorium's wording. No zoning vote was found, and whether this proposal is still active was not confirmed.
- A residents' group that challenges the Hobart campus lists a 2025 Wylie Capital request that rezoned 400 acres in neighboring Hobart. Nothing opened links that request to this proposal.
The full record
- Status note
- Paused is an inference: the town barred new data center project approvals from June 1, 2026 through May 31, 2027, and this proposal had only a preliminary committee approval when last reported. The town does not name projects, and no project-specific record later than 2024 was opened.
- Evidence
- News reports; primary records not yet obtained
- Size class
- Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)