Data center campus · 75242 Gar Swanson Road, Boardman, Morrow County, Oregon

Amazon (AWS) campus, Gar Swanson Road, Morrow County

Operating as of March 24, 2025

A four-building Amazon campus on about 102 acres, with a DEQ air permit for 112 emergency generators, whose utility supply was capped at 40 MW in 2023 and which proposed gas fuel cells to fill the gap. Also known as: PDX109.

Cite← Oregon data centers
Baker CountyBenton CountyClackamas CountyClatsop CountyColumbia CountyCoos CountyCrook CountyCurry CountyDeschutes CountyDouglas CountyGilliam CountyGrant CountyHarney CountyHood River CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyJosephine CountyKlamath CountyLake CountyLane CountyLincoln CountyLinn CountyMalheur CountyMarion CountyMorrow CountyMultnomah CountyPolk CountySherman CountyTillamook CountyUmatilla CountyUnion CountyWallowa CountyWasco CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyYamhill CountyAmazon (AWS) campus, Gar Swanson Road, Morrow County · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site102acres

Who is behind it

ProjectAmazon (AWS) campus, Gar Swanson Road, Morrow CountyAlso: PDX109
Developer and teamAmazon Data Services
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. A news report said an Aug. 19 DEQ letter cited a fire pump that ran over 55 hours straight here on Dec. 15, 2023, during construction; the $10,400 penalty also covered Hermiston water permit matters. (Apple Valley News Now, Sept. 30, 2025)

  2. DEQ opened comment through April 24 on swapping one diesel backup generator with no rise in emission limits; the permit was set to expire Aug. 1, 2026. (East Oregonian, March 27, 2025)

  3. An updated assessment described four buildings of about 220 by 1,000 feet on roughly 102 acres, with the campus still being built and the fuel cells tied to regional transmission upgrades such as Boardman to Hemingway. (Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (Maul Foster & Alongi for Amazon Data Services), Sept. 14, 2023)

  4. Amazon's consultant told DEQ the first data center was complete and others were being built, and proposed about 24 MW of Bloom natural gas fuel cells for around six years because the cooperative could deliver only 40 MW. (Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (Maul Foster & Alongi for Amazon Data Services), June 7, 2023)

  5. DEQ issued standard air permit 25-0062-ST-01 for the site, covering 112 emergency diesel generators of about 266 MW in total. (Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (Maul Foster & Alongi for Amazon Data Services), Sept. 14, 2023; Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (Maul Foster & Alongi for Amazon Data Services), June 7, 2023)

Conflicts and open questions

  • The map point is approximate, placed from the street address.
  • Whether DEQ approved the fuel cells was not found.
  • Whether the penalty was appealed was not found.

The full record

Status note
Consultant filings with DEQ said the first building was finished by June 2023 and later ones were being built; a September 2023 filing still called the campus under construction. In March 2025 DEQ was changing the facility's permit. How many buildings now run was not found.
Power note
No facility load is stated. The DEQ permit authorizes 112 emergency diesel generators of about 266 MW in total, which is backup capacity; the utility limited the site to 40 MW in 2023.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Nov. 7, 2026.